• 关注
  • 关注
  • 关注

疫苗接种更新

最近在媒体上,你可能已经阅读了澳大利亚兽医协会(AVA)关于狗和猫接种疫苗的最新消息。 以下文章将让您完全了解疫苗接种。

我的宠物接种了什么疫苗?

小狗

细小病毒 —— 严重肠胃炎引起呕吐和肠出血。 这种病毒可以在环境中长时间存活(超过12个月)。

犬瘟热 —— 病毒导致流感症状和严重癫痫发作和麻痹,得病的死亡率为50%。

肝炎 —— 病毒导致急性肝衰竭和并发症,包括失明。

犬舍咳 —— 这是可接种疫苗最常见疾病。 患病的狗情况严重时会病情会演变为高度传染性咳嗽,甚至加剧为成肺炎。

流感 —— 由疱疹病毒和/或 杯状病毒引起 ,症状包括打喷嚏,流鼻涕,结膜炎和发烧。 在严重的情况下会出现眼和口腔溃疡,并且这种疾病在易感猫中可能是致命的。

肠炎 – 严重病毒引起的呕吐和血性腹泻 ,通常是致命的。

白血病病毒 – 病毒导致免疫系统减弱,通过唾液传播。 大约15%的受感染的猫会发生癌症。 只呆在室内的猫不需要这个疫苗。

疫苗真的有必要吗?

自二十世纪六十年代以来,接种疫苗已经能够成功保护我们的宠物。 定期疫苗强化剂是必要的,以延续宠物的终身防护。 如果没有对大多数宠物群体进行定期的强化疫苗接种,可能会导致如瘟热病毒和犬细小病毒等致命疾病的暴发。

由于这些动物种群的疫苗接种率已经降低,因此动物收容所和较落后的社区通常会看到较高的宠物传染病发病率。 犬瘟热病毒是二十世纪六十年代常见的致命传染病,每年让狗接种疫苗已让澳大利亚成功地近乎根除该病毒。

然而,在首都和都市地区仍然存在“瘟热”,悉尼12个月以上确诊16例。 这提醒人们,维持疫苗接种和预防这些疾病至关重要。

宠物疫苗有多安全?

高登动物医院只使用具极高安全性的疫苗。 我们没有遇到过接种疫苗直接导致动物死亡的案例。 我们兽医的座右铭是“首先没有伤害”,这延伸到我们的疫苗协议,这协议几十年来一直保护我们客户的宠物免受致命疾病。

为了使疫苗注册成为上市兽药,必须经过严格的临床试验并获得APVMA(澳大利亚农药和兽药管理局)的批准。

除了疫苗接种后立即接种疫苗的地方让宠物感觉一点痕痒外,我们看到的最常见的疫苗反应是荨麻疹,但它很快就会消失了(6万只狗中有1只)。

宠物免疫介导的疾病与疫苗接种之间没有直接的联系。 如果您的宠物已有免疫介导的疾病(如溶血性贫血),那么任何免疫刺激都可以将停止。

迄今为止,还没有任何科学数据和证据证明,在现在澳大利亚,每年接种多样疫苗会增大应用疫苗导病的风险。

什么是群体免疫力?

群体免疫角度看到的是作为一个整体的狗群及其对传染病的防护水平。 一般情况下,已接种疫苗的动物将免受犬细小病毒侵入,他们对环境不造成污染。 如果环境中的犬细小病毒较少,那么未经完全接种疫苗的狗( 例如 幼犬) 感染的几率就会降低 。

如果忽视了群体免疫的重要性,将会增加对环境的病毒污染和潜在疾病的爆发。

我的宠物接种疫苗的频率较低是否有风险?

在美国一项研究中,超过20%的狗没有足够的对犬细小病毒的防护。 这结果透露出对低频接种的狗群的担忧。

疫苗接种以两种方式保护动物 – 防止疾病和防止散播(传播病毒)。 不幸的是,缺乏临床试验证明疫苗接种时间的延长能得到群体免疫力的足够支撑。

此外,延长的疫苗间隔时间可能会增加环境的病毒污染的可能性,这可能会导致未来犬细小病毒的爆发。为您的宠物采用疫苗协议时应该考虑到这一点。

现今的研究主要集中在年轻的动物身上。 老年动物对疾病的免疫力下降。 目前缺乏证据表明老狗仔 3年疫苗间隔后仍能持续有足够的免疫力 。

我应该多久带宠物接种一次疫苗?

现在有两种狗接种疫苗的选择:

1) 犬咳嗽,犬细小病毒,瘟热和肝炎的 年度接种疫苗 (与以前一样)

2) 每年接种 犬咳嗽和三年接种(3年)犬细小病毒,犬瘟热&肝炎

无论哪种方式,你的狗仍然需要进行一年一次的疫苗接种和健康检查,但不是每个疾病都需要每年接种。

鉴于疫苗的高度安全性和保护我们宠物免受恶劣感染的有效性,我们的兽医仍然支持狗和猫的一年一度的接种疫苗,直到关于群体免疫力的进一步研究的公布。 我们现在都储备了疫苗,以便客户有选择的机会。 如果您希望让您的狗接种三年一次的疫苗,请通知您的兽医。

那么猫呢?

欧洲猫病咨询委员会(ABCD)目前建议每年给猫疫苗增强剂。 ABCD是猫科医学和免疫学领域的专家和研究人员组成的团队。 以下是他们的一个出版物的摘录,可在 www.abcd-vets.org上找到

“虽然疫苗增强剂之间的推荐存在争议,鉴于目前的科学证据,欧洲猫科疾病咨询委员会建议,应每隔一段时间给予猫疫苗加强剂,以保护其个体…除了个别低风险情况( 如室内猫,没有接触到其他的猫)。 在这种情况下,三年一次的接种间隔是可以接受的。“

根据这些数据,高登动物医院的兽医一致支持猫的年度接种疫苗和健康检查。

有关疫苗接种的进一步信息或有关本文的问题,请联系 info@gordonvet.com.au 或致电9498 3000跟我们的兽医讨论一下。

Online presence by Pet Pack | Web Design by Online Marketing for Doctors | 网站地图
在线预订
Lihong Xing
Lihong Xing
05:00 05 Nov 18
Highly recommend Dr David, Scott, Helen, and Catherine, I've taken my cat to see all the doctors here.
Vishal Kapoor
Vishal Kapoor
01:52 04 Sep 18
Really amazing staff members. Their systems and processes are also very
Arezu A
Arezu A
03:20 15 Feb 18
Absolutely love the service here. I switched from other Vets to this Vet as the staff here are quite attentive and really care about your furry baby! I have basically seen most of the Dr's here and all of them so far have been fantastic, friendly and fun to speak with! Easy to locate and enough parking available! 5 Stars indeed!
Gerry Stevens
Gerry Stevens
11:01 14 Jul 18
Good competant vet. Did what I needed. Staff friendly. Cat's well.
Jeremy Tarbox
Jeremy Tarbox
22:55 10 Sep 18
We found a stray, agitated dog in front of our house last night. We phoned but got no help from the Council ranger who gave two options: tie him up in front yard overnight or "let him loose, he'll find his own way home" :( So we phoned Gordon Vet: they stayed open a few minutes so we could run him up and he could have a bed and dinner. Thank you Gordon Vet Hospital, hope he gets home soon!!! :)
See All Reviews

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

An Update on Vaccinations

Recently, in the media you may have read about some recent developments with the Australian Veterinary Association’s (AVA) guidelines regarding vaccinations in dogs and cats. The following article will ensure that you are fully informed on the topic of vaccinations.

What diseases is my pet being vaccinated against?

DOGS

Parvovirus – Severe gastroenteritis causing vomiting and bleeding from intestines. This virus can survive for extended periods of time in the environment (in excess of 12 months).

Distemper – Virus leading to flu like symptoms and severe seizures and paralysis with a mortality rate of 50%.

Hepatitis – Virus leading to acute liver failure with complications including blindness.

Canine Cough – The most common disease seen in practice that we can vaccinate for. Dogs develop an highly contagious cough that may develop into pneumonia.

CATS

Flu – Caused by Herpesvirus and/or Calicivirus, symptoms include sneezing, nasal discharge, conjunctivitis & fever. Eye & mouth ulcers are seen in severe cases and the disease can be fatal in susceptible cats.

Enteritis – Severe virus causing vomiting and bloody diarrhea and often fatal.

Leukaemia Virus – The virus causes a weakened immune system, transmitted through saliva. Cancer develops in about 15% of infected cats. Not needed for indoor only cats.

Are vaccines really necessary?

Vaccinations have been successfully protecting our pets in Australia since the 1960’s. Regular boosters are necessary to continue this protection for life. Without regular booster vaccinations of the majority of the pet population, outbreaks of deadly diseases such as Distemper Virus & Parvovirus may occur.

Animal shelters and lower socioeconomic communities generally see higher rates of infectious diseases due to already lower vaccination rates in these populations of animals. Canine Distemper Virus was a common deadly infection of the 1960’s and successful annual vaccination of dogs has lead to the near eradication of the virus in Australia.

However, Distemper still exists around capital cities and urban areas, with 16 cases confirmed in Sydney over 12 months. This serves as a reminder that maintenance of vaccination and protection against such diseases is vital.

How safe are the companion animal vaccines?

Gordon Vet Hospital only uses vaccines with an extremely high safety profile. None of us have ever seen any deaths in animals as a direct result of vaccination. Our vets’ motto is always “first do no harm” and this certainly extends itself to our vaccine protocols, which have been protecting pets against fatal diseases successfully for decades.

In order for a vaccine to become registered for use in veterinary medicine, it must undergo rigorous clinical trials and obtain approval from the APVMA (Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority).

Apart from being a bit itchy at the vaccination site immediately after the vaccine is administered, the most common vaccine reaction we see is hives, which disappears very quickly (1 in 60 000 dogs).

There is no direct link between immune mediated disease in pets and vaccinations. If your pet is pre-disposed to developing immune mediated disease (such as haemolytic anaemia), then any immunologic stimulation can set it off.

To date, there has been no evidence-based scientific data to demonstrate that multiple vaccinations given annually increase the risk of development of disease with the vaccines used in Australia today.

What is herd immunity?

Herd immunity looks at the dog population as a whole and its level of protection against infectious diseases. Animals that have been vaccinated will generally be protected from shedding Parvovirus into the environment, resulting in less environmental contamination. If there is less Parvovirus in the environment, then there is less chance of infection for dogs that have not been fully vaccinated (eg young puppies).

If the importance of herd immunity is overlooked, there will be increased viral contamination of the environment and potential outbreaks.

Are there any risks involved with vaccinating my pet less frequently?

Over 20% of dogs in a study in the USA showed that dogs did not have adequate protection against Parvovirus. These results suggest some concerns for less frequent vaccination of the population.

Vaccination protects animals in two ways – protection against disease and protection from shedding (spreading the virus). Unfortunately there is a lack of clinical trials that can demonstrate adequate herd immunity after extended vaccine interval protocols.

Furthermore, extended vaccine intervals may cause increased viral contamination of the environment, which may cause outbreaks of Parvovirus in the future. This should be taken into account when deciding on a vaccine protocol for your pet.

Studies that have been carried out have mostly focussed on younger animals. Immunity to disease decreases in old animals. Evidence is currently lacking as to the persistence of sufficient immunity after 3 year vaccine interval in older dogs.

How often should I bring my pet in for vaccination?

There are now 2 options for dog vaccinations:

1) Annual Vaccination for Canine Cough, Parvovirus, Distemper & Hepatitis (as before)

2) Annual Vaccination for Canine Cough and Triennial Vaccination (3 yearly) for Parvovirus, Distemper & Hepatitis

Either way, your dog still needs to come in for an annual vaccination & health check, but it may not be for every disease every year.

Given their high safety margin and effectiveness for protecting our pets against nasty infections, our vets still support annual vaccination for dogs and cats, until further studies on herd immunity have been published. However, we now stock both the vaccines so that clients have a choice. Please inform your vet at the time if you would prefer to have the triennial vaccine administered to your dog.

What about cats?

The European Advisory Board for Cat Diseases (ABCD) currently recommends that boosters should be given annually to protect individual cats. The ABCD is a team of experts and researchers in the fields of feline medicine and immunology. Below is an excerpt from one of their publications, available at www.abcd-vets.org

“Although the issue of recommended intervals between boosters is controversial, in view of currently available scientific evidence, the European Advisory Board for Cat Diseases recommends that boosters should be given at annual intervals to protect individual cats…with the exception of cats in low-risk situations (eg indoor only cats without contact to other cats). In these cases, three-yearly intervals would be acceptable.”

In light of this data, the vets at Gordon Vet Hospital unanimously support annual vaccinations and health checks for cats.

For further information on vaccinations or questions about this article, please contact info@gordonvet.com.au or phone one of our vets on ph 9498 3000 to discuss.

SEO and Web Design by Online Marketing For Doctors | Sitemap
Book Online