• 关注
  • 关注
  • 关注

驱虫

worming驱虫是宠物健康护理计划的重要组成部分。 澳大利亚约80%的狗和约75%的猫携带肠蠕虫。不必对此数字感到奇怪,当你考虑到一些蠕虫每天可以产生数千个虫卵而虫卵能够在地下存活5年! 在高登动物医院,我们建议定期检查狗和猫。

有两大类的蠕虫可以消除和防止

  • 心丝虫
  • 胃肠蠕虫(胃肠蠕虫)

心丝虫病

什么是心丝虫病?

心丝虫病是由寄生虫(犬心丝虫)引起的,心丝虫生活在犬类(天然宿主)的心脏动脉中。 随着时间的推移,这些蠕虫会在心脏里长大,狗会积累许多心虫,这些蠕虫会堵塞起来导致心脏不能正常工作。 这导致充血性心力衰竭,这是一个危及生命的致命的寄生虫问题。

我的狗怎么能被心丝虫寄生?

叮咬过受感染狗的蚊子会给未感染的狗只传染心丝虫病。 丝虫幼虫(微丝虫)被携带在蚊子的口器中并通过叮咬狗只的方式传播。 你的狗不需要直接接触被感染的狗来感染疾病。

如何预防心丝虫病?

预防丝虫病最简单的方法是每年注射Proheart SR-12一次。 在高登动物医院,我们在宠物进行结扎(6个月大) 的时候,我们对其进行第一次心丝虫疫苗的注射。然后每年在与年度健康检查和疫苗增强剂同时进行处理。  在任何阶段,狗都可以从每月的预防转变为每年一次的注射。在幼犬达到6个月之前,我们建议每月使用Milbemax药片预防心脏疾病。

有没有对得了心丝虫病的狗进行安全的治疗?

不幸的是,一旦狗因心丝虫病而出现充血性心力衰竭,治疗后果不佳。 如果这些狗病得很重,治疗本身带有很大的危险: 杀死心脏中的蠕虫可能会导致身体其他部位的阻塞,因为死亡的蠕虫会绕着血液流动。 通常,治疗的目的是用药物和稳定剂来控制心力衰竭,而不是去除寄生虫。

消化道蠕虫

我应该担心我狗的蠕虫吗?

许多小狗出生时带有蛔虫,而其他小狗则通过母乳感染蠕虫。 这可能会严重影响你小狗的健康,并对人类,特别是年幼的孩子是一个风险。 小狗喜欢舔小孩的脸和手,虫卵和幼虫会被小孩吞下,导致孩子内脏器官包虫囊肿等恶疾甚至失明(不常见)。 从健康和卫生的角度来看,定期治疗宠物寄生的蠕虫非常重要。

主要肠道蠕虫是什么?

  • 蛔虫(犬弓蛔虫)
  • 钩虫(犬复孔绦虫)
  • 鞭虫(狐毛首线虫 )
  • 绦虫(棘球绦虫)
  • 常见的跳蚤绦虫(小虫)

大多数蠕虫通过动物的口腔为途径从一只狗传到另外的狗,这意味着通过狗只之间互相舔臀部或舔舐对方脸部的行为容易造成感染。

绦虫可以通过未煮熟的肉(特别是内脏)感染你的宠物,所以最好避免给狗喂食未煮熟的肉。

什么是最好的犬科驱虫机制?

我们建议根据以下制度来驱除小狗的蠕虫:

  • 每2星期驱虫直到12周大
  • 每月驱虫直到6个月大
  • 在狗成年后每3个月一次

对于经常到乡间行走的狗,建议给成年狗每6周肠道蠕虫驱虫一次。

你有什么建议?
高登动物医院推荐以下肠道蠕虫产品:

  • Milbemax狗药  ——每3个月给予一次清肠蠕虫。 我们给小狗注射Proheart之前便开始使用它。
  • Drontal ——每3个月给予一次的咀嚼片
  • Advocate  ——给不喜欢投放片剂宠物主的外用驱虫替代品(液体涂在脖子后面)。 它能防治包括心丝虫和跳蚤以及其他肠蠕虫(绦虫除外)。

猫中常见的肠道蠕虫有哪些?

  • 蛔虫(弓蛔虫, 狮弓蛔线虫.)
  • 钩虫(美洲板口线虫)
  • 绦虫(犬复孔绦蟲)

什么是猫的最好的驱虫方式?

我们建议小猫按照以下方式驱虫:

  • 每2星期驱虫直到12周
  • 然后每月驱虫直到6个月大
  • 然后成年猫终身每3个月驱虫一次

你有什么建议?

高登动物医院推荐以下肠道蠕虫产品:

  • Milbemax科 —— 这是个口味清淡的药丸
  • Profender —— 这是一种外用涂抹产品(适用于颈后液体),是不愿意吃药丸的猫的理想驱虫替代药物。

在猫心丝虫显着   

猫在悉尼患有心丝虫是罕见的。心丝虫的自然宿主是狗,一旦心丝虫寄生在猫心脏,这是相当往往是致命的,因为猫的肺动脉尺寸更小。由于在悉尼极少数猫会得心丝虫病,我们目前不推荐常规猫预防心丝虫 。

在线预订

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

Worming

wormingWorming is an important part of your pet’s health care programme. Approximately 80% of Australia’s dogs and 75% of Australia’s cats carry intestinal worms. This is not surprising when you consider that some worms can produce thousands of eggs per day and some eggs can survive up to 5 years in the ground! At Gordon Vet Hospital we recommend regular worming of dogs and cats.

Dogs

There are 2 broad categories of worms to eliminate and prevent –

  • Heartworm
  • Gastrointestinal worms (stomach and intestinal worms)
Heartworm Disease
What is heartworm disease?

Heartworm disease is caused by a parasitic worm (Dirofilaria immitis) that lives in the arteries of the heart in the dog (the natural host). Over time, these worms grow in the heart and the dog can accumulate many heartworms, which act like a blockage and cause the heart not to function properly. This leads to congestive heart failure, which is a life threatening problem and can be fatal.

How can my dog catch heartworm?

Dogs catch heartworm disease via mosquitoes that have fed on an infected dog. The heartworm larvae (microfilaria) are carried in the mouthparts of mosquitoes and transmitted via a mosquito bite. Your dog does not have to be in direct contact with an infected dog to catch the disease.

How do I prevent heartworm disease?

The easiest way to prevent heartworm disease is via an annual injection called Proheart SR-12. At Gordon Vet Hospital we give the first heartworm injection at the time of desexing (6 months of age). It is then administered every year at the same time as the annual health check and booster pet vaccinations. At any stage, a dog can change from a monthly preventative to a yearly Proheart injection. Before a puppy reaches 6 months of age we recommend using Milbemax tablets monthly for heartworm prevention.

Is there a safe treatment for dogs that develop heartworm disease?

Unfortunately once a dog has congestive heart failure from heartworm disease, the prognosis is poor. These dogs are very sick and treatment itself is risky because to kill the worms that are living in the heart can cause blockages elsewhere in the body as the dead worms move around the bloodstream. Usually treatment is aimed at controlling the heart failure with medication and stabilisation rather than removing the parasites.

Gastrointestinal Worms
Should I be worried about worms in my dog?

Many puppies are born with roundworms and others are infected with worms through their mother’s milk. This can seriously affect the health of your puppy and is a risk to humans, especially young children. Puppies love to lick children’s faces and hands and worm eggs and larvae can be swallowed by children leading to nasty diseases such as hydatid cysts in the internal organs or even blindness (uncommon). So from a health and hygiene perspective, treating worms regularly is very important.

What re the main intestinal worms?
  • Roundworms (Toxocara canis)
  • Hookworms (Ancylostoma caninum)
  • Whipworms (Trichuris vulpis)
  • Hydatid Tapeworms (Echinococcus granulosus)
  • Common Flea Tapeworm (Dipylidium caninum)

Most worms are transmitted from dog to dog via the faeco-oral route, which means through licking other dogs’ bottoms or eating other dog’s faeces.

The Hydatid tapeworm can infect your pet via uncooked meat (particularly offal), so it is best to avoid feeding offal to dogs.

What is the best worming regime in dogs?

We recommend that puppies be wormed according to the following regime:

  • Every 2 weeks until 12 weeks of age
  • Then monthly until 6 months of age
  • Then every 3 months for life in adult dogs

In dogs that travel frequently to the country, worming every 6 weeks with an intestinal all-wormer in adult dogs is recommended.

What wormers do you recommend?

Gordon Veterinary Hospital recommends the following intestinal worming products:

  • Milbemax Dog – This covers against intestinal worms when given every 3 months. We use it in puppies before the Proheart Injection is started.
  • Drontal – A chewable tablet given every 3 months
  • Advocate –A topical product (liquid applied to the back of the neck) for owners that do not like tablets. It covers against heartworm and fleas as well as intestinal worms (except tapeworm).

Cats

What are the common intestinal worms found in cats?
  • Roundworms (Toxocara cati, Toxascaris leonina)
  • Hookworms (Ancylostoma tubaeforme, Uncinaria stenocephala, Ancylostoma braziliense)
  • Tapeworms (Dipylidium caninum)
What is the best worming regime in cats?

We recommend that kittens are wormed according to the following regime:

  • Every 2 weeks until 12 weeks of age
  • Then monthly until 6 months of age
  • Then every 3 months for life in adult cats
What wormers do you recommend?

Gordon Veterinary Hospital recommends the following intestinal worming products:

Milbemax Cat This is a small flavoured tablet

Profender – This is a topical product (liquid applied to the back of the neck) and is a great alternative for cats that are difficult to give a tablet to.

Is heartworm disease in cats significant?

Heartworm disease in cats in Sydney is rare. The natural host for heartworm is the dog but when heartworm disease does occur in cats, it is quite often fatal due to their smaller pulmonary artery size. Due to the few cases seen in Sydney we currently do not routinely recommend heartworm prevention in cats.

Book Online