• 关注
  • 关注
  • 关注

动物结扎

猫和狗

desexing结扎手术涉及什么问题?

结扎手术涉及女性子宫卵巢和男性睾丸的切除。全程在全身麻醉下进行,所以你的宠物不会感到任何疼痛。 结扎是控制生育的永久手段,是常规 宠物手术

什么时候结扎最好 

雄性和雌性猫狗的结扎的建议年龄为6个月。

雌性猫狗在6个月大后,进入“发情期”和“交配季节”,开始跟雄性交配,所以千万不要结扎太迟 。如果你的宠物在6个月大的时候进行绝育手术,不会有任何被弃养的初生幼犬和小猫。手术会直接进入未成熟雌性动物尚未发育的子宫。在雌性动物第一发情期之前进行绝育手术,使他们拥有较低的乳癌发病率,这对动物健康有裨益。

雄性猫狗6个月大时结扎较少会有不良行为,如尿液标记(狗)或尿液喷涂(猫),侵略式游荡呼叫等行为。

动物结扎的好处?

如果你不打算从你的宠物繁殖,手术结扎有许多优点。

这可以消除雄性的性冲动,即使你的宠物碰到发情期的雌性,他也不会有什么兴趣。这降低了它们到处游荡的意愿。公狗和公猫如果在约6个月大进行绝育,它们极少会用尿液标记自己的领土也较少有行为问题 。

结扎保护雌性进入发情期,因此将不用限制它的活动。结扎还可以预防子宫的常见疾病,如 子宫积脓 。在第一次发情期以前进行结扎,可以大大降低乳腺(乳房)癌的机会。

绝育的宠物在区委会终身注册会更便宜 。你只要向理事会出示消毒证书。

有什么缺点?

有种常见的谬误:绝育的宠物会变得肥胖和懒惰。正确喂养优质食物(如Hill Science的食谱)无须额外添加可以防止肥胖的发生。在动物6个月大时候结扎,会放缓生长速度,因此减少食物的摄入很重要。结扎手术不会使宠物失去其个性。宠物可能会更加温和 ,但他们没有失去神气和智力。他们好玩乐与人交往的心是不变的。

节育手术有任何并发症吗?

偶尔地,雌犬绝育后会产生膀胱虚弱无力感。这通常发生在他们年纪大了的时候。好消息是,有一个非常有效无味的药物添加到食品中能解决此问题。这并发症情况不是针对猫类发生的。

有替代节育手术的办法吗?

现在有一种用于公狗节育的注射植入物的非手术替代,称为Peptech 的Suprelorin 。具有与手术结扎同样的好处,但它不是永久性的,效果消时需要重复注植入物。对于年轻的公狗,手术去势仍然是比较好的选择的。但这种替代方法也是好的,起码是有用的其他选项。

我什么时候预订物的节育手术 

从星期一到星期五都可以预定宠物的结扎手术 。在早上7点到9点之间(空腹),把他们留在我们这里,第二天再过来领取即可。手术后的宠物都会得到强效止痛剂,来让他们舒服。如果您有任何疑问或您想预约,请致电我们 9498 3000。同时,每年的犬类恶丝虫(适用于狗 )预防注射可以在同一时间内完成,请来电详询。

兔子

应该让我的兔子

所有的雌兔应在 4-6个月大的时候绝育,以避免怀孕不必要的小兔子和预防子宫癌。超过4岁雌兔约70%受到子宫癌的影响,这通常是致命的疾病,因为它迅速扩散到其他器官,如肝,肺和皮肤,不可以治疗。

研究表明,公兔进行绝育 ,可以避免激进争斗和霸占领土的行为。这种不良行为通常在他们6-12个月大开始,他们经常对你或他们笼友变得具侵略性 。未节育的成熟雄兔也倾向于比结扎过的兔子多十倍地垂直喷尿任何表面来确认领土。他们的尿特别难闻。
[ 分频器 ]

雪貂

雌性雪貂,如果他们不绝育将面临死亡的风险 。一旦雪貂开始排卵 ,如果他们不交配将长时间逗留在排卵期。这会导致产生过多雌激素和这会最终毒害骨髓,导致雌激素中毒和致命性贫血。

雌激素中毒的症状是虚弱不思饮食,牙龈发白和出血。在这个阶段,雪貂生病严重,很难痊愈,往往还需要多次输血。

雌激素中毒和致命性贫血通常可以通过结扎6个月以下非繁殖所需的雌性雪貂来预防。

 

在线预订

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

Desexing

Cats and Dogs

desexingWhat is involved in desexing?

Desexing involves the surgical removal of the ovaries and the uterus in the female and the testicles in the male. The procedure is carried out under general anaesthesia so your pet does not feel any pain. Desexing is a permanent means of birth control and is a routine pet surgical procedure.

What is the best age for desexing?

In cats and dogs, the recommended age for desexing is 6 months of age in both males and females.

In females, cats and dogs tend to come into “heat” or “season” and receptive to males just after 6 months of age, so it is important not to delay desexing. If your pet is desexed at 6 months, there will not be any unwanted puppies or kittens born. The procedure is straight forward in an immature female as the uterus is less developed. Females desexed prior to their first heat have a much lower incidence of mammary (breast) cancer, which is a health advantage.

In males, cats and dogs desexed at 6 months have less chance of developing undesirable behavioural traits such as urine marking (dogs) or spraying (cats), aggression, roaming and mounting behaviours.

What are the advantages of desexing?

If you do not intend to breed from your pet, surgical desexing has many advantages.

In males it removes sexual urges so that if your pet senses a female in heat he is unlikely to show interest. This reduces the tendency for them to roam. Male dogs and cats are less likely to mark their territory with urine and often have fewer behavioural problems if desexed around 6 months old.

Desexing prevents the female from coming into season and therefore she will not have to be confined. It also prevents common diseases of the uterus such as pyometra. Desexing prior to the first heat greatly reduces the chance of mammary (breast) cancer.

Lifetime registration with the council is cheaper if your pet is desexed. All you will need is to show the sterilisation certificate to the council.

Are there any disadvantages?

It is a common fallacy that a desexed pet will become fat and lazy. Correct feeding of a premium diet (eg Hills Science Diet) without any extras should prevent obesity. Desexing at 6 months coincides with a reduced growth rate so it is important to reduce food intake. Desexing does not cause a pet to lose its character. Pets may be more gentle but they neither lose their spirit nor their intelligence. Playfulness and socialisation with humans are not changed.

Are there any complications from desexing?

Occasionally female dogs develop a weak bladder after being desexed. Usually this happens when they are older. The good news is that there is a very effective tasteless medication that can be added to the food to correct this problem. This doesn’t tend to happen in cats.

Is there an alternative to desexing?

There is now a non-surgical alternative for sterilising male dogs via an injectable implant called Suprelorin by Peptech. The same benefits are obtained as with surgical desexing but it is not permanent, so the implant will need to be repeated as the effect wears off. Permanent surgical castration for young male dogs is still considered to be superior, but it is good to have another option available.

When can I book my pet in for desexing?

Pets can be booked in for desexing from Monday to Friday. They are left with us in the morning between 7am and 9am (on an empty stomach) and collected the following day. All patients having surgery receive strong pain relief to maintain their comfort. Please ring us if you have any further queries or if you would like to make an appointment ph 9498 3000. Ask about the annual heartworm injection (available for dogs) which can be done at the same time.

Rabbits

Should I get my rabbit desexed?

All female rabbits should be desexed between 4-6 months to prevent pregnancy and unwanted babies as well as prevention of uterine cancer. Uterine cancer affects approximately 70% of female rabbits over 4 years of age and is usually fatal as it spreads rapidly to other organs such as the liver, lungs and the skin and is not treatable.

It is advised that male rabbits be desexed to avoid aggressive and territorial behaviour. This bad behaviour usually starts between the ages of 6-12 months and they often take out their aggression on you or their cagemates. Intact mature male rabbits are also 10 times more likely to spray urine on vertical surfaces to mark their territory. The urine has a particularly unpleasant odour.

Ferrets

Female ferrets are at risk of dying if they are not desexed. Since ferrets are induced ovulators, they remain in oestrus for long periods if they are not mated. This results in too much oestrogen being produced and the hormone eventually poisons the bone marrow, leading to oestrogen toxicosis and fatal anaemia.

The symptoms of oestrogen toxicosis are weakness, not eating, pale gums and haemorrhage. At this stage, the ferret is extremely sick and has a poor prognosis, often requiring multiple blood transfusions.

Oestrogen toxicosis and fatal anaemia is prevented by routine desexing of all female ferrets not intended for breeding by 6 months of age.

Book Online