• 关注
  • 关注
  • 关注

宠物手术

surgery

高登动物医院有两个设备齐全的手术室和一个污染手术区(俗称“湿的”)。我们的手术室会令许多人类医院忌妒,它被用于各种各样的外科手术,下面是其中一些的手术。

绝育手术

我们最常见的外科手术之一是狗、猫、野兔,有时还有雪貂的绝育结扎手术。点击这里了解更多关于结扎手术的信息。

软组织手术

软组织手术指的是任何不动骨头的手术。我们通常对动物所有身体系统进行软组织手术。一些常见的手术包括:

  • 膀胱结石摘除——手术摘除膀胱结石,以纠正膀胱炎和尿路阻塞。
  • 剖腹产和助产——一些狗和一些品种的动物会难产,动物的剖腹产手术如同在人类医院一样进行。一直是护士们的最爱!
  • 从肠道中移除异物——这高效的手术 (通过手术或内窥镜检查)移除宠物能吞下所有神奇之物——绳子、高尔夫球、核果、玉米棒等等。如果及早诊断和治疗,这将是个成功的手术,但如果已经异物造成肠道破裂或带来严重损害,这将危及宠物生命。
  • 胃扩张(肿胀——这是一种威胁生命的疾病,这让动物的胃扩张,甚至会导致肠扭转。
  • 肛门腺的冲洗或去除——感染或堵塞肛门腺体是犬类常见的疾病。
  • 柔软的上颚/堵塞的鼻孔修复——许多体型较小的狗有过长的软颚和压扁的鼻孔。如果在早期治疗(6个月至2岁),这种治疗能非常成功地维持终生。
  • 皮肤手术包括在耳上血肿(巨大的血泡)和皮肤活检/肿块切除的诊断或癌症治疗。有关癌症治疗的更多信息见下文。
  • 伤口管理是医学治疗里最具专业知识的区域——路面交通事故或癌症手术后会留下惊人的伤口。管理这些伤口必须结合,缓解疼痛护理、营养调配、高科技敷料和有时需要先进技术的手术来移植或翻皮肤到身体的其他部位。

眼睛会产生疼痛的溃疡,有时宠物需要全身麻醉下进行清理(手术清理)。

耳朵可能会产生疼痛的感染或耳鼓的破裂,这些通常需要在麻醉下温和地彻底冲洗。

癌症手术

随着宠物年龄的增长,癌症成为一个更常见的问题。我们的许多宠物有可能在一定年纪被诊断出癌症,尽管这是个令人不寒而栗的消息但是还有很多事可以做来补救。

癌症的诊断和治疗是我们最精通的领域之一 —— 这需要各位兽医鼎力合作通过不同的诊断、手术和医疗技能,还有我们所能提供的医疗设施和护理。

外科作为最有效的癌症治疗方式无可争议 —— 成功的癌症手术需要仔细的诊断和规划,精细的手术技术和持续的支持护理。我们经常在手术前后咨询兽医肿瘤学家(癌症专家)的意见。

一些常见的癌症包括入侵性的皮肤肿块、肝或脾脏癌、口腔癌、膀胱癌、乳腺癌、肠癌和淋巴瘤。更多信息请参见我们关于癌症治疗的章节。

骨科手术

骨科手术是对影响骨骼、关节、肌肉、肌腱和韧带的疾病的诊断和治疗。宠物跛足、僵硬、行动缓慢等问题慢慢浮现出它们的关节或骨骼中可能存在问题。这应该通过在麻醉、x光和可能的活组织检查来确诊。

一些常见的骨科问题包括:

十字韧带断裂。狗的膝盖和我们的膝盖非常相似,它们颅骨交叉韧带和软骨(半月板)会跟人有同样的劳损伤害。这些结构的撕裂或完全破裂将导致明显的跛行和持续的关节炎。对大多数宠物来说,外科手术是最好的治疗方法。

髋关节发育不良。在许多大型犬种中,这是一个常见的病症。在宠物年少时(4 – 6个月) 进行诊断治疗有机会在它们发展成为关节炎前得到纠正。如果关节炎已经存在,且动物通过休息,温和的运动,药物和物理治疗感到舒适的话,手术可能不是最好的选择。

  • 骨折通常发生在宠物跌倒或发生道路事故后,经常伴随影像其他重要器官的生命危险。骨折的治疗需要在正确的时间进行,是一项高度技术性的手术,会使用到骨板、引脚、外框等。
  • 脊椎问题。有许多疾病可以影响动物的脊柱,外科手术治疗对某些病患是最好的。通常这治疗程序在外科转诊中心进行。
在线预订

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

Pet Surgery

surgeryGordon Veterinary Hospital has two fully equipped operating theatres and an area for ‘wet’ or contaminated surgery. The operating theatres are the envy of many human hospitals and are used for a wide variety of surgical procedures, just some of which are described below.

Desexing Surgery

One of our most common surgical procedures is surgical sterilisation or desexing of dogs, cats, rabbits and sometimes ferrets. Click here for more information on desexing.

Soft Tissue Surgery

Soft tissue surgery implies just that – surgery of just about anything that is not bone! We commonly perform soft tissue surgery on just about all the body systems. Some common surgeries would include:

  • Bladder stone removal – surgical removal of stones from the bladder to correct cystitis and blockage of the urinary tract.
  • Caesarian section and assisted whelpings – some dogs and some breeds have difficulty giving birth and a caesarian section is performed just like in a human hospital. Always a favourite with the nurses!
  • Foreign body removals from the intestinal tract – this rewarding surgery involves the removal (via surgery or endoscopy) of all the amazing things that pets can swallow – string, golf balls, stone fruits, corn cobs to name but a few! If diagnosed and treated early this is a successful surgery but can be life threatening if there is already rupture or severe damage to the intestinal tract.
  • Gastric dilatation (bloat) – this is a life threatening condition where the stomach becomes massively dilated and can sometimes twist (volvulus).
  • Anal gland flushing or removal – infected or blocked anal glands are a common problem in dogs.
  • Soft palate / blocked nostril repair – many smaller breed dogs have an overly long soft palate and squashed nostrils. If treated at an early age (6 months to 2 years) this treatment is lifelong and highly successful.
  • Skin surgeries would include haematomas (huge blood blisters) on the ear and skin biopsies / lump removals for diagnostic or cancer treatment. See below for more information on cancer treatment.
  • Wound management is an area of great expertise within the practice – wounds can reach an alarming size after road traffic accidents or cancer surgery. They must be managed with a combination of pain relief, nutrition, high technology dressings and sometimes advanced surgical techniques to graft or flap skin from other parts of the body.
  • Eyes can develop painful ulcers which on occasion need to be debrided (surgically cleaned up) under general anaesthetic.
  • Ears can develop painful infections or rupture of the ear drum and these are often managed by gentle but thorough flushing under anaesthesia.

Cancer Surgery

As our pets age cancer becomes a more common problem. Many of our pets will be diagnosed with cancer at some stage and although this is chilling news there is much that can be done.

Cancer diagnosis and treatment is one of our most proficient areas – it requires the cooperation of veterinarians with varied diagnostic, surgical and medical skills not to mention the facilities and care that only a large hospital like ours can provide.

The role of surgery as the most effective form of cancer treatment is undisputed – more pets have been treated for cancer with surgery than with all other methods of treatment put together. Successful cancer surgery requires careful diagnostics and planning, meticulous surgical technique and ongoing supportive care. We often consult with a veterinary oncologist (cancer specialist) before and after surgery.

Some common cancers would include aggressive skin lumps, liver or spleen cancer, mouth cancer, bladder cancer, mammary cancer, intestinal cancer and lymphoma. See our section on cancer treatment for more information.

Orthopaedic Surgery

Orthopaedic surgery is the diagnosis and treatment of diseases affecting bones, joints, muscles, tendons and ligaments. Lameness, stiffness, a slowness to rise or even behavioural problems are a sign that there may be a problem within a joint or bone. This should be investigated through manipulation under anaesthesia, x-rays and possibly biopsies.

Some common orthopaedic problems would include:

Cruciate ligament rupture. Dogs have knees that are very similar to ours and can do the same damage to the cranial cruciate ligament and ‘cartilages’ (meniscii). A tear or complete rupture of these structures will lead to pronounced lameness and ongoing arthritis. Surgery is the best treatment for most pets.

  • Hip dysplasia. This is a common problem in many large breed dogs. Early diagnosis (before 4-6 months) provides a window of opportunity to correct this condition before arthritis sets in. Surgery may not be the best option if arthritis already exists and the animal is comfortable through rest, gentle exercise, medication and physiotherapy.
  • Fractured bones normally occur after a fall or road accident and pets often present with life threatening injuries to other vital organs. Treatment of fractures is undertaken at the right time and is a highly technical procedure utilising bone plates, pins, external frames and more.
  • Spinal problems. There are numerous diseases which can affect the spine of animals and some of these are best treated with surgery. These procedures are normally undertaken at a surgical referral centre.
SEO and Web Design by Online Marketing For Doctors | Sitemap
Book Online