• 关注
  • 关注
  • 关注

给宠物主的关于宠物骨关节炎的信息

什么是骨关节炎?

关节由软骨和软结缔组织组成,作为骨骼之间的减震器,提供低摩擦的表面,允许相邻骨骼独立运动。 关节炎导致或结缔组织发炎。 由于关节的磨损而导致疼痛和僵硬。

骨关节炎(关节炎)是一种影响宠物和宠物主人的疾病,然而,不幸的是,宠物的这种病症经常被误诊,尤其是在疾病的早期阶段。对于狗和猫,关节炎通常由退行性或发育性疾病或通过直接损伤关节(例如撕裂韧带)引起。年老的动物更容易受到关节炎的影响,不仅仅是因为它们老了,而是因为它们有更多的机会造成关节损伤。

关节是由软骨和软性结缔组织构成的,它们充当骨头之间的减震器,提供一个低摩擦的表面,使相邻的骨头能够独立运动。关节炎导致软骨退化或结缔组织发炎。由于关节的磨损而导致疼痛和僵硬。

有什么临床征兆要注意?

不幸的是,大多数关节炎病例由于缺乏对病情和治疗方案的了解而未得到诊断和治疗。 狗有这病会像人得了关节炎一样遭受真切的痛苦,但问题在于他们不能传达这种痛。

因为宠物主知道狗的性格,通过发现宠物正常体能的变化来识别宠物是否具有关节炎的早期症状,

狗或猫可能患有关节炎的迹象,包括:

  • 不愿走路或玩耍
  • 休息后难以起床
  • 难以爬楼梯
  • 跳进汽车或坐在椅子上很困难
  • 跛行或僵硬
  • 改变性格或变得具有攻击性
  • 减少与人的互动
  • 食欲下降
  • 焦虑感增强
  • 舔或自我伤害
  • 去厕所里面

什么治疗可用

有许多治疗方法可以缓解宠物的关节炎。 所有这些治疗都被注册来用于狗。

1)治疗关节炎的根本

诊断和治疗任何可能导致关节炎的疾病,尤其对于年轻动物,都是非常重要的。 髋关节和肘关节发育不良和十字韧带部分断裂是年轻动物的疾病,不仅需要治疗关节炎,而且(如果不加控制的话)会导致宠物终身衰弱。在年龄较大的狗身上,可能会有更隐秘的原因导致它们跛脚和关节炎,例如癌症。麻醉和x光是诊断这些问题的常用方法。

2)聚硫酸戊聚糖注射剂(Cartrophen)

每周注射4次,为软骨再生提供构建物并提供一定消炎的止痛。 通常,第三次注射就能显露药效。每套疗程持续约6个月。 这套治疗通常是在开始治疗关节炎时推荐的。这种治疗方法注册在狗身上,但它已经在猫中被成功地使用。

3)非甾体类抗炎药

非甾体类抗炎药可以长期使用,也可用来减少关节炎引起的炎症。有小药片,咀嚼片,或者蜂蜜味的液体,让你的宠物很容易食用。如果你的宠物需要长期的消炎治疗,大多数情况下需要验血。兽医在开任何处方消炎药之前必须进行身体检查。

4)强效止痛药

强力镇痛药物,如Tramadol,已经常被医生开具为处方药作为关节炎治疗的一部分。这可以大大提高你的宠物的生活质量,而且通常它们的副作用比非甾体类抗炎药对敏感动物的副作用小。

5)氨基葡萄糖/软骨素补充剂

这些营养补品通常为人类而设,但是现在有专门为狗设计的产品,叫做“Glyde”,“Joint Guard”(中性味道)和“Sasha’s Blend”(腥味)。 这些产品通常是粉末状的,可以与食物或零食混合每天使用。这种营养剂可以在关节炎的所有阶段使用或用来预防关节炎来维持良好健康。 对于严重的关节炎,它们可以与非甾体类抗炎药(如上所述)联合使用。

6)减肥计划Hills Science Diet R/D减肥餐

许多超重宠物的主人非常沮丧,因为他们不给宠物喂食太多的食物。然而,当宠物得了关节炎时,它们锻炼更困难,而且超重的宠物会给关节施加更大的压力从而使病情恶化。在某些情况下,只要减肥就可以减轻关节炎。我们使用Hills Science diet R/D这种处方食粮来为宠物减肥取得了很大的成功,它旨在让狗或猫在减肥时保持饱腹感。它不是一个完整的食粮,所以在减肥完成后,你的宠物应该被喂食能维持健康的体重的清淡食粮。另一种名为“vet -a- slim”(咀嚼片)的新补充剂现在可以用来改善超重患者减轻体重。

7)处方食粮Hills Science Diet J/D关节饮食

有一种叫做“Hills Science diet J/D”的极好的给狗的新处方减肥法,它通过添加通过添加欧米茄-3脂肪酸和氨基葡萄糖和软骨素促进健康的关节。

8)常规锻炼

温和、有规律的运动对关节炎很有帮助。它促进关节运动,关节液的分泌和营养物质流到关节,所有这些都减缓了关节炎的恶化。

请致电9498 3000与高登动物医院联系,与护士、兽医讨论上述要点或预约您的宠物来诊。或者你可以发电子邮件到info@gordonvet.com.au

Online presence by Pet Pack | Web Design by Online Marketing for Doctors | 网站地图
在线预订
Lihong Xing
Lihong Xing
05:00 05 Nov 18
Highly recommend Dr David, Scott, Helen, and Catherine, I've taken my cat to see all the doctors here.
Vishal Kapoor
Vishal Kapoor
01:52 04 Sep 18
Really amazing staff members. Their systems and processes are also very
Arezu A
Arezu A
03:20 15 Feb 18
Absolutely love the service here. I switched from other Vets to this Vet as the staff here are quite attentive and really care about your furry baby! I have basically seen most of the Dr's here and all of them so far have been fantastic, friendly and fun to speak with! Easy to locate and enough parking available! 5 Stars indeed!
Gerry Stevens
Gerry Stevens
11:01 14 Jul 18
Good competant vet. Did what I needed. Staff friendly. Cat's well.
Jeremy Tarbox
Jeremy Tarbox
22:55 10 Sep 18
We found a stray, agitated dog in front of our house last night. We phoned but got no help from the Council ranger who gave two options: tie him up in front yard overnight or "let him loose, he'll find his own way home" :( So we phoned Gordon Vet: they stayed open a few minutes so we could run him up and he could have a bed and dinner. Thank you Gordon Vet Hospital, hope he gets home soon!!! :)
See All Reviews

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

Osteoarthritis Information for Pet Owners

What is osteoarthritis?

Osteoarthritis (arthritis) is a condition that affects pets and pet owners alike, however in pets, unfortunately the condition often goes undiagnosed, particularly in its early stages. In dogs and cats, arthritis is most often caused by a degenerative or developmental disease or by direct injury to a joint, such as a torn ligament. Older animals are more often affected by arthritis, not just because they are old, but because they have had more opportunities for joint damage.

Joints are composed of cartilage and soft connective tissue that serve as shock absorbers between bones and provide a low-friction surface that allows independent motion of adjacent bones. Arthritis results in degeneration of the cartilage or inflammation of the connective tissue. Pain and stiffness develops as a result of wear and tear of the joints.
What are the clinical signs to look out for?

Unfortunately, the majority of cases of arthritis go undiagnosed and untreated due to the lack of awareness of the condition and treatment options. Dogs experience real pain, as do humans with arthritis, but the problem lies in communicating this pain.
Pet owners are best placed to identify the early signs of arthritis as they know their dogs’ personality and can recognise the changes to their normal physical ability.

Signs indicating a dog or cat may be suffering from arthritis include:

  • Reluctance to walk or play
  • Difficulty getting up after resting
  • Difficulty climbing stairs
  • Difficulty in jumping into car or onto a chair
  • Limping or stiffness
  • Change in character or aggression
  • Reduced interaction with people
  • Reduced appetite
  • Increased anxiety
  • Licking or self-injury
  • Going to the toilet inside
  • What treatments are available?

There are many treatment options to relieve arthritis in pets. All of these treatments are registered for use in dogs.

1) Treat the underlying cause of the arthritis

It is very important to diagnose and treat whatever condition may be causing the arthritis, particularly in young animals. Hip and elbow dysplasia and partial rupture of the cranial cruciate ligament are diseases of young animals that need more than just arthritis treatment and (if uncontrolled) can lead to a lifetime of debilitation. In older dogs there can be more sinister reasons for lameness and arthritis such as cancer. Anaesthesia and x-rays are the usual way of diagnosing these problems.

2) Pentosan polysulphate injections (Cartrophen)

A course of 4 weekly injections to provide the building blocks for cartilage regeneration as well as providing some anti-inflammatory relief. Results are usually seen by the 3rd injection. Each course lasts approximately 6 months. This course is often recommended at the start for initial treatment of arthritis. This treatment is registered for use in dogs, but it has been used in cats successfully off-label.

3) Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs

Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs can be used long term or as required for reduction of inflammation involved in arthritis. There are small tablets, chewable treats or a honey-flavoured liquid, making dosing your pet very easy. If your pet requires long term anti-inflammatory therapy, then a blood test will be required in most cases. The veterinary surgeon must perform a physical examination before prescribing any anti-inflammatory drugs.

4) Strong pain killer drugs

Strong pain relief medication, such as Tramadol, has started to be prescribed more commonly as part of an arthritis treatment regime. This can greatly improve the quality of life of your pet and usually they have fewer side effects than the non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs in sensitive animals.

5) Glucosamine/chondroitin supplements

These nutritional supplements are used commonly in people but now there are products specifically designed for dogs called “Glyde”, “Joint Guard” (neutral flavour) and “Sasha’s Blend” (fishy flavour). These products usually come in a powder form that can be mixed in with food or a treat on a daily basis. This supplement can be given in all stages of arthritis or pre-emptively to maintain good joint health. For severe arthritis, they can be used in conjunction with a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (discussed above).

6) Weight loss programme – Hills Science Diet R/D or “Reducing Diet”

Many owners with overweight pets are very frustrated as they are not feeding their pet very much food. However, when arthritis sets in, exercising is more difficult and having an overweight pet exacerbates the problem by putting more pressure on the joints. Weight loss alone in some cases can relieve arthritis. We have had great success with the Hills Science diet R/D, which is a prescription food designed to keep the dog or cat feeling full while losing weight. It is not a complete diet, so after the weight loss is complete, your pet will be placed on a light maintenance diet to maintain a healthy weight. Another new supplement called “Vet-a-Slim” (chewable tablets) is now available to improve weight loss in overweight patients.

7) Prescription diet – Hills Science Diet J/D or “Joint Diet”

There is a great new prescription diet called Hills Science diet J/D for dogs, which promotes healthy joints through the addition of omega-3 fatty acids and glucosamine and chondroitin.

8) Regular exercise

Gentle, regular exercise is very helpful for arthritis. It promotes joint movement, the secretion of joint fluid and the flow of nutrients into the joints, all of which slow down the progression of arthritis.

Please phone Gordon Veterinary Hospital on 9498 3000 to discuss any of the above points with a nurse or a veterinary surgeon or to make an appointment for your pet. Alternatively you can email info@gordonvet.com.au

SEO and Web Design by Online Marketing For Doctors | Sitemap
Book Online