• 关注
  • 关注
  • 关注

失去你的宠物

尽管我们都不愿意考虑这种可能性,但我们都会面临失去我们挚爱宠物的一刻。有很多情绪——悲伤,宽慰,内疚,甚至愤怒。这是悲痛过程的正常部分。需要数周或数月的时间来克服这些感觉,来恢复心灵的平静和接受现实。

人道的安乐死

有些人宁愿我们出诊到家里帮他们的宠物进行安乐死。这可以通过打电话给我们(02)9498 3000来安排。我们通常每周的大部分时间都能来照顾你和你的宠物。

这是一个非常悲伤的时刻,但我们知道我们大多数人会比我们的宠物活得更久,在某个阶段需要面对这个决定。在这艰难的时刻,我们的兽医都很有同情心和温和。

如果你不确定什么时候做出安乐死的决定来跟你的宠物说再见,你可以预约去看我们的兽医,或者在电话里讨论这个问题。我们是来帮助你的,所以你不是一个人在做决定。

你想在安乐死期间出现吗?

如果你不想在安乐死中出现,我们的工作人员会善待你的宠物。一些主人认为这是他们可以为他们的宠物做的最后的支持,因为他们和宠物有着强烈的感情,但是其他人无法做到。如果你对安乐死的过程感到害怕,请让你的兽医给你介绍这个过程的所有步骤,这样你就可以决定你是否愿意留下来。我们将能够满足您的需要,无论您是否与宠物在一起渡过安乐死或在安乐死之前就跟它们说再见。

丧失宠物后的支持

有时失去宠物感觉就像失去了自己的家庭成员,特别是当一个强烈的感情关系已经形成。因此,失去宠物会令人非常沮丧,也会不同形式地影响人们的情绪。有时,有必要寻求专业顾问的专业支持,这些顾问经过专门训练,帮助人们克服失去心爱宠物的痛苦。

多年来,我们的工作人员推荐David Foote兽医,在丧亲病咨询方面有更深入的资格认证。他曾经帮助过许多我们的客户,在过去,他经历过这样的悲伤,并成为了一名兽医,他喜欢动物,并且能够理解你所经历的一切。David Foote医生可以通过电话咨询0425281424或查阅他的网站www.davidfoote.com.au。

请与我们联系以寻求帮助或进一步了解私密的专业丧亲的支持。我们是来帮忙的。

火葬服务

有尊严的葬礼是我们所有人都想为我们爱宠争取的。然而,由于区委会的规定,并不一定可以将你的宠物埋在家里,所以有一系列可供选择的方案。

如果一张照片和一些记忆已经足够,我们可以安排一个例行火化,在那里你的宠物被火化,但没归还骨灰。我们向你保证,你的宠物会以一种人道的方式火化。

如果你希望你的宠物骨灰被归还,我们可以提供私人火葬。

以下是一些私人火葬的选择:

  • 石瓮
  • 骨灰盒(你可以撒下骨灰)
  • 木箱(密封或未密封)
  • 木制相框(让你的宠物的照片放在盒子的外面)
  • 砂岩牌匾-如果你已经把你最好的朋友安顿好,并且想要永久的记忆,我们可以安排一个美丽的牌匾。

悼念

如果你想在我们的网站上向你的宠物致敬,请告诉我们。你可以创建一个小视频,发送一些照片,写几句话或一首诗,我们可以在我们的博客上让你的宠物永垂不朽。请用电子邮件向我们的网站发送信息。

还可以通过兽医科学基金会,以你的宠物的名义捐款。这笔钱用于研究尚未治愈的宠物疾病,或者需要进一步了解某种疾病或治疗的信息,所以这是一个很好的安排。请到他们的网站上进一步的查阅捐赠信息https://www.alumniandfriends.usyd.edu.au/VSF.asp

向你的孩子解释宠物的损失。

父母们常常很担心失去的宠物可能对他们的孩子造成的影响。重要的是, 如果您能适当地处理这些情况,你的孩子将会更好地后面的类似伤痛,而这类情况将会给小孩减少悲伤。

安乐死的另一种表达方式是“让宠物入睡”。虽然这句话在成年人中是可以接受的,但不要让小孩子听到,因为他们可能会感到困惑,认为常规的睡眠意味着有人将要死去,或者认为狗是睡着了,而不是死了。

不要对你的孩子撒谎。如果你就这么重要的事情对孩子撒谎,孩子可能会对你的话语失去信任,你会为孩子树立起不诚实的榜样。

孩子们会有种自责的倾向,即使孩子参与了宠物的死亡,很重要的是,你必须保证这不是孩子们的错。孩子可能会责怪父母决定让他们的宠物安乐死,他们没办法正理解背后的原因。这应该在安乐死之前解释给孩子,这样他们就可以认真对待,和他们所爱的动物说再见了。

2-3岁的儿童通常对死亡一无所知。他们应该被告知他们的宠物已经死了,不会再回来了。通常,这个年龄段的孩子会欣然接受另一只宠物代替死去的宠物。

4-6岁的儿童对死亡有一定的了解,但可能认为这是暂时的。悲伤往往以尿床、食欲不振和睡眠困难的形式出现。

7-9岁的儿童通常意识到死亡是不可逆转的。他们可能会对死亡及其后果感到好奇。父母应该能够诚实地回答任何可能出现的问题。这个年龄段的孩子们在遭遇悲伤时,会在学校学习困难、叛逆或变得黏人。

10-11岁的儿童理解死亡是自然的,不可避免的,因此,这些孩子通常对死亡的反应与成年人相似。

青少年的反应与成年人相似,但可能表现出否认悲痛,甚至目无表情。重要的是要认识到,这些年轻人可能正经历着没表现出来的真实悲伤。

Online presence by Pet Pack | Web Design by Online Marketing for Doctors | 网站地图
在线预订
Lihong Xing
Lihong Xing
05:00 05 Nov 18
Highly recommend Dr David, Scott, Helen, and Catherine, I've taken my cat to see all the doctors here.
Vishal Kapoor
Vishal Kapoor
01:52 04 Sep 18
Really amazing staff members. Their systems and processes are also very
Arezu A
Arezu A
03:20 15 Feb 18
Absolutely love the service here. I switched from other Vets to this Vet as the staff here are quite attentive and really care about your furry baby! I have basically seen most of the Dr's here and all of them so far have been fantastic, friendly and fun to speak with! Easy to locate and enough parking available! 5 Stars indeed!
Gerry Stevens
Gerry Stevens
11:01 14 Jul 18
Good competant vet. Did what I needed. Staff friendly. Cat's well.
Jeremy Tarbox
Jeremy Tarbox
22:55 10 Sep 18
We found a stray, agitated dog in front of our house last night. We phoned but got no help from the Council ranger who gave two options: tie him up in front yard overnight or "let him loose, he'll find his own way home" :( So we phoned Gordon Vet: they stayed open a few minutes so we could run him up and he could have a bed and dinner. Thank you Gordon Vet Hospital, hope he gets home soon!!! :)
See All Reviews

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

With the loss of your pet..

Though none of us like to consider the possibility, at some point we are faced with the loss of our much loved pet. There are many emotions – sadness, relief, guilt and even anger. These are a normal part of the grieving process. It can take weeks or many months to overcome these feelings and return to a feeling of peace and acceptance.

Humane Euthanasia

Some people prefer a home visit for euthanasia of their pet. This can be organised by calling us on (02) 9498 3000. We are usually able to accommodate you and your pet most days of the week.

It is a very sad time but we understand that most of us will outlive our pets and need to face this decision at some stage. Our vets are compassionate and gentle during this difficult time.

If you are uncertain when is the right time to say good-bye to your pet and make the decision to euthanase him or her, please either make an appointment to see one of our vets or discuss this over the phone. We are here to help so you are not alone in your decision making.

Do you want to be present during euthanasia?

If for any reason you do not want to be present during the euthanasia, our staff with treat your pet with kindness and respect. Some owners feels this is a last supportive act they can perform for their pet with whom they shared a strong bond, but others are simply not up to it emotionally. If you are scared about the process of euthanasia, have your vet go through the process step by step so you can make a decision whether you would like to stay or not. We will be able to accommodate your needs regardless of whether you stay with the pet or say goodbye prior to euthanasia.

Bereavement Support

Sometimes losing a pet it feels like losing a member of your own family, particularly if a strong bond has been formed. For this reason, it can be extremely upsetting and can affect people emotionally in different ways. Sometimes it is necessary to seek professional support from a counsellor who is specially trained in helping people overcome their distress over losing a much loved pet.

Over the years, our staff have recommended Dr David Foote, who is a veterinarian with further qualifications in bereavement counselling. He has assisted many of our clients in the past with the grieving process and being a veterinarian himself, loves animals and can empathise with what you are going through. Dr David Foote is available for phone consultations ph 0425 281 424 or refer to his website www.davidfoote.com.au

Please contact us for assistance or for further information about private, professional bereavement support. We are here to help.

Cremation Services

A dignified burial is what we all want for our pet. However burying your pet at home is not always possible due to council regulations, so a range of alternative options are available.

If a photo and some memories are enough then we can arrange a routine cremation, where your pet is cremated but the ashes are not returned. We assure you that your pet is cremated in a humane manner and is not taken to the tip.

If you would like the ashes of your pet to be returned we can offer a private cremation.

Below are some options for private cremation:

Stone Urn

Scatter Box (so you can scatter the ashes)

Timber Box (either sealed or unsealed)

Timber Photo Box (to enable a photo of your pet to be placed on the outside of the box)

Sandstone Plaque – if you have already laid your best friend to rest and would like a permanent memory we can arrange a beautiful plaque to be made

Tributes

If you would like to leave a tribute to your pet on our website please let us know. You can create a small video, send some photos, write a few words or a poem and we can immortalize your pet on our blog. Email us info@gordonvet.com.au with your tribute for our website.

There is also the option of making a donation in the name of your pet through the Veterinary Science Foundation. The money goes to researching pet diseases that have yet to be cured or where further information is needed about a particular disease or treatment, so it is a good cause. Please go to their website for further information about making a donation https://www.alumniandfriends.usyd.edu.au/VSF.asp

Explaining the Loss of a Pet to your Children

Parents are often very worried about the effects the loss of a much loved pet may have on their children. It is important to handle these situations appropriately as if you do this, your children will be better able to cope emotionally with future losses and the situation will be less traumatic.

Another expression for euthanasia is “putting the pet to sleep”. While this saying is acceptable amongst adults, do not let young children hear it as they may become confused and think that routine sleep means someone is going to die, or think that the dog is asleep rather than dead.

Do not lie to your children. If you lie to a child about something as important as this, the child may lose trust in your word and you would be modeling dishonesty as a behaviour for the child.

Children do have a tendency to blame themselves and even if the child was involved in the pet’s death, it is vital that the child is reassured that it is not their fault. The child may blame the parents for making the decision to euthanase their much loved pet and not really understanding the reasons why. This should be explained to the child prior to euthanasia so they can come to grips with it and say goodbye to their loved one.

Children aged 2-3 years usually have no understanding of death. They should be told their pet has died and will not return. Typically, a child in this age group will readily accept another pet in place of the dead one.

Children aged 4-6 years have some understanding of death but may see it as temporary. Grief often takes the form of wetting the bed, lack of appetite and difficulty sleeping.

Children aged 7-9 years are usually aware that death is irreversible. They may become curious about death and its consequences. Parents should be able to respond honestly to any questions that may arise. Children suffering from grief in this age group may have some difficulty learning at school, antisocial behaviour or become clingy.

Children aged 10-11 years understand death as natural, inevitable and consequently, these children usually react to death in a similar manner to adults.

Teenagers react similar to adults but may exhibit denial including the lack of an emotional display. It is important to realise that these young people may be experiencing sincere grief without any outward manifestations.

SEO and Web Design by Online Marketing For Doctors | Sitemap
Schedule An Appointment