• 关注

鸟类,小型哺乳动物和野生动物

虽然我们大多数的病患是猫狗,但我们的兽医对护理其他物种很有经验,包括:

  • 小型哺乳动物(兔子,白鼬,豚鼠,大鼠,小鼠)
  • 野生动物保健(澳大利亚本土动物,例如 负鼠,狸,野生鸟类,爬行动物)
  • 鸟类

对于小型哺乳动物如兔子,均衡营养是非常重要的,我们这里推行的餐单由OXBOW -国际上兔兽医强烈推荐的。详情请来电咨询9498 3000,咨询更多关于你的宠物兔,雪貂,豚鼠或啮齿动物的任何问题。

对于复杂鸟类问题,我们可以向您推荐禽流感专家。请打电话与我们的护士联系,以确定您的宠物在 高登动物医院治疗还是需要禽类专家。悉尼Waterloo区有家以Dr Alex Rosenwax为首的鸟专家门诊: www.birdvet.com.au

对于宠物爬行动物和两栖动物的问题,我们建议与Crows Nest的Dr David Vella预约,致电他9436 4884 或访问他的网站: www.davidvella.com.au

我们免费从当地社区接收生病和受伤的野生动物。

兔类营养

长期如一的饮食对保持兔子的健康身体至关重要,这确保他们的肠胃里的菌群健康。持续如一的兔类饮食非常重要,因为可以避免肠道微生物产生过多的气体。如果过多气体产生会导致食欲不振和肠胃瘀血(因为肠道不做工)。

不幸的是,市面上大多数预先混合饲料并不是你兔子最健康的选择。兔类需要高纤维的饮食,以保持牙齿和肠道正常工作。这些“兔子混合食品”缺乏纤维和兔类必需的营养素,在某些情况下,这类食品甚至会导致兔子出现健康问题。

干草和草

干草和草是纤维的最佳来源。Timothy干草或草地干草是理想的兔类食物,应该组成兔子75%的食物来源。Lucerne干草不适合成年兔子因为它是一种豆科植物,而不是草,含有太多的蛋白质和钙。Lucerne和苜蓿干草可喂不足6个月大的兔子。

Timothy干草要放在阴凉干燥的地方,不要存放在密封容器因为干草需要“呼吸”。Timothy干草可从高登动物医院购买。批量购买草地干草(同样适用)请致电9986 3400找Terry Hills的“Better Produce”。

颗粒饲料

颗粒饲料应含较高的纤维量,如Oxbow食谱。大部分的颗粒饲料含有16-18%的纤维,而20-27%对非繁殖期兔子最好。给2千克体重的兔子喂食约四分之一杯的饲料。喂食太多的颗粒饲料会导致细菌在肠内失去平衡。一定情况下,有些兔子只吃颗粒饲料而不吃干草和蔬菜。因此,只能给限量饲料。选择单独的颗粒饲料而不是混合种子和谷物的饲料,这样兔子就不能挑食了。

Oxbow’s Bunny Basics/T (T= Timothy) 是专门配制给成年兔子的饲料,而基础配方(15/23)含有15%蛋白质和23%的纤维,可以喂食12个月以下的幼兔。

蔬菜

干草是不是维生素的来源。维生素来自绿叶蔬菜。每天喂食一个2千克重的兔子约1杯蔬菜。每次投放蔬菜一个,以确保兔子能消化掉。

胡萝卜不是理想的喂食蔬菜,因为它们含有大量的糖和碳水化合物(小胡萝卜顶部是可以喂食的)。避免喂食容易产生兔子体内气体的蔬菜,如西兰花和花椰菜。至少选择3种不同类型的蔬菜来喂食。合适的蔬菜包括:苜蓿芽,罗勒,甜菜,西兰花的叶子,抱子甘蓝,胡萝卜缨,青椒,生菜,白菜叶,南瓜,豌豆荚(不是豌豆)。 不要喂玉米。

水果

可以喂食少量水果族作为小吃或训练辅助奖励(非正常饮食)。高纤维的水果是最好的,一只2千克兔每天不应该超过两汤匙水果(最好是这少或者根本没有)。最好是连续喂食同种水果,以避免肠胃不适。 例子; 苹果,李子,桃,梨,西瓜,菠萝,覆盆子/黑莓/草莓。

照顾生病及野生动物受损

高登动物医院每年包括公众假期诊断和治疗超过一千野生动物。这些动物包括负鼠,狸,鸟类和爬行动物。这项服务是免费提供给公众。我们的兽医团队和Sydney Metropolitan Wildlife Services和WIRES一起为受伤的野生动物重回家园努力。然而,要明白很重要一点,已严重受伤或生重病的动物多无无法在野外生存,必须人道毁灭 。这是新南威尔士州国家公园和野生动物的政策,这是处于对动物福利的最佳选择。

我应该怎么做,如果我发现受伤的野生动物?

我院真的感激民众送来受伤和生病的野生动物,而不是留他们在野外受苦。如果动物已经通过了明显的攻击或被车撞,请马上把它送过来。要小心处理野生动物 ;配戴园艺手套和使用厚毛巾以及一个厚纸箱通常是输送他们的好方法。一旦动物交给我们,我们将负责他们。

这链接教导如何处理初生小鸟。有时,如果幼鸟跌落它的巢穴,如果真正的窝被破坏或再用,可能要搭建新鸟巢,。下面是链接指导如何为幼鸟建新巢 。这些链接是Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary 的护理方法。

如果你发现了动物弃婴,那么请致Sydney Metropolitan Wildlife 电话 9413 4300 或 WIRES 电话8977 3333。在春天有2周时间,年轻的成鸟会出巢,被迫学会飞。这往往意味着他们容易被捕捉,并在地面到处跳。小鸟父母在这个阶段通常会在他们身边并且还喂养他们的年轻子女。请不要打断这个非常重要的过程。

每个送来的动物都会很快地被兽医和独立电脑进行记录。这容易让民众跟踪这些患病的动物。如果你想知道你在送过来的野生动物的病情,请稍后致电负责该动物的兽医护士。

新南威尔士国家公园和野生动物(NPWS)

如果你发现一个受伤,生病或成为孤儿的原著动物,不能把它收为宠物。NPWS授予全州专科野生动物康复组织许可来接收这类动物。这些团体培训和帮助短期受困的本土动物得到最佳的护理,帮他们回到野外。NPWS一般不会让不属于野生动物康复组织的人照顾受伤的当地野生动物。这些动物如果要回到野外自谋生路,通常需要有专业知识和治疗护理经验的专业人士帮忙。

在动物回归野外之前,我们必须考虑它的健康和身体状况以及它回到自然环境中生存的能力。那些土生动物如果不能被释放回野外,必须遵循人道的安乐死。

欲了解更多信息,请联系新南威尔士国家公园和野生动物服务网站
www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au

Online presence by Pet Pack | Web Design by Online Marketing for Doctors | 网站地图
在线预订
Gordon Vet Hospital
4.8
Based on 104 reviews
powered by Google
Jayna Hirani
Jayna Hirani
03:43 09 Apr 20
Quality care and advice at every visit. The staff are friendly and informative and genuinely care about your pets. I am 100% confident that my cat and dog always receive the best pet healthcare and as pet parents that's all we want.
Marianne Broeng
Marianne Broeng
23:23 28 Jan 20
Gordon Vet has looked after my golden retriever since she was 9 weeks. Everyone has been amazing and caring with lots of experience. I have been able to ask any questions and always been welcome. Even one day when she stepped on a bee in the evening, they stayed open until we got there and helped her get it out. Thanks to all the staff :-)
Lizzie Wei
Lizzie Wei
00:56 18 Jan 20
We just moved to Gordon couple month ago and need to get my cat vaccinated. We found this hospital through google and I need to say they provide excellent service and very professional! The doctor really knows cat. Highly recommended!
Lara Bisley
Lara Bisley
08:15 27 Nov 19
Exceptional veterinary hospital. I have been taking my dog here for many years and although I now live in the Eastern Suburbs, I still drive across town to see the Vets at Gordon. The staff are highly skilled, compassionate, friendly and helpful. My 9 year old dog has had 2 knee operations (1 on each knee!) and the outcome of these surgeries far exceeded my expectations. I have been incredibly impressed with the care provided during all of our visits. I would highly recommend Gordon Vet Hospital.
Eugenie Goodyer
Eugenie Goodyer
23:22 21 Oct 19
Very friendly staff. Wonderful care for all our animals A++
Jennie Keogh
Jennie Keogh
06:36 21 Oct 19
Fantastic and friendly staff who you can tell really care about your pet. Their follow up service is also very reassuring. I also board my cat with Gordon Vet and I feel very comfortable to know he's in safe and caring hands. I'm so glad I found this clinic.
Newsha Amiri
Newsha Amiri
20:24 03 Oct 19
We took our dog there and Dr. David take care of his skin issues. he was so caring and professional.
Luxe Sydney Mum
Luxe Sydney Mum
06:37 02 Sep 19
Compassionate, caring and highly skilled veterinary surgeons who treat their patients and owners with respect. The nursing and administration staff are efficient and remember their patients by name which is a lovely touch. A lovely vet practice which despite our Golden Retriever Finn’s complex medical history, is always welcoming to him and he never displays any signs of anxiety when attending. Dr Helen is lovely and a firm favourite of ours!
Lihong Xing
Lihong Xing
05:00 05 Nov 18
Highly recommend Dr David, Scott, Helen, and Catherine, I've taken my cat to see all the doctors here.
Jeremy Tarbox
Jeremy Tarbox
22:55 10 Sep 18
We found a stray, agitated dog in front of our house last night. We phoned but got no help from the Council ranger who gave two options: tie him up in front yard overnight or "let him loose, he'll find his own way home" :( So we phoned Gordon Vet: they stayed open a few minutes so we could run him up and he could have a bed and dinner. Thank you Gordon Vet Hospital, hope he gets home soon!!! :)
Vishal Kapoor
Vishal Kapoor
01:52 04 Sep 18
Really amazing staff members. Their systems and processes are also very
Gerry Stevens
Gerry Stevens
11:01 14 Jul 18
Good competant vet. Did what I needed. Staff friendly. Cat's well.
Arezu A
Arezu A
03:20 15 Feb 18
Absolutely love the service here. I switched from other Vets to this Vet as the staff here are quite attentive and really care about your furry baby! I have basically seen most of the Dr's here and all of them so far have been fantastic, friendly and fun to speak with! Easy to locate and enough parking available! 5 Stars indeed!
See All Reviews

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

Birds, Small Mammals & Wildlife

While the majority of our patients are dogs and cats, our vets are also experienced in the veterinary care of other species including:

  • Small mammals (rabbits, ferrets, guinea pigs, rats, mice)
  • Wildlife care (native Australian animals eg possums, bandicoots, wild birds, reptiles)
  • Birds

For small mammals such as rabbits, where the correct nutrition is so important, we stock the recommended diets by OXBOW – strongly recommended by rabbit vets internationally. Please contact us on 9498 3000 for any questions regarding your pet rabbit, ferret, guinea pig or rodent.

For complicated bird problems we will refer you to an avian specialist. Please phone and speak to one of our nurses to determine whether the problem can be treated at Gordon Vet Hospital or requires an avian specialist. There is a bird specialist clinic at Waterloo in Sydney headed by Dr Alex Rosenwax: www.birdvet.com.au

For pet reptiles and amphibians we recommend organising an appointment with Dr David Vella at Crows Nest, by phoning him on 9436 4884 or visiting his website: www.davidvella.com.au

We accept sick and injured wildlife free of charge from members of the local community.

RABBIT NUTRITION

A consistent diet is vital for rabbits to maintain their body condition and ensure that the bacterial population within their gastrointestinal tract stays healthy. Consistency in rabbit diets is very important to avoid microbes in the gut producing too much gas. If this happens, it may lead to poor appetite and gut stasis (where the gut stops working).

Unfortunately, most of the pre-mixed diets available for rabbits are not the healthiest choice for your bunny. Rabbits need a high percentage of fibre in their diet to keep their teeth and gut working properly. These “rabbit food mixes” are deficient in fibre and essential nutrients and in some cases, can even cause health problems.

Hay & Grass

Hay and grass are the best sources of fibre available. Timothy grass hay or meadow hay is ideal and should make up 75% of a rabbit’s diet. Lucerne hay is unsuitable for adult rabbits as it is a legume, not a grass and contains too much protein and calcium. Lucerne and alfalfa hay can be fed to growing rabbits up to 6 months of age.

Timothy hay should be stored in a cool, dry place. Do not store it in a sealed container as hay needs to “breathe”. Timothy hay can be purchased from Gordon Veterinary Hospital. For bulk purchase of meadow hay (also appropriate), contact “Better Produce” on 9986 3400 at Terry Hills.

Pellets

Pellets should have a high fibre content, eg Oxbow diets. Most pellets range from 16-18% fibre but 20-27% is optimal in a non-breeding rabbit. Feed approximately a quarter (1/4) of a cup of pellets per 2kg body weight per day. Too many pellets can lead to an abnormal balance of bacteria in the intestines. If given the opportunity, some rabbits will eat only pellets and ignore their hay and vegies. For this reason, only a limited amount of pellets must be provided. Choose pellets alone rather than the mixes with seeds and grains so they cannot pick and choose.

Oxbow’s Bunny Basics/T (T= Timothy) is specifically formulated for the adult rabbit, while the Basic Basics (15/23) formula (15% protein, 23% fibre) is for young rabbits up to 12 months of age.

Vegetables

Hay is not a source of vitamins. Vitamins should be sourced from green leafy vegetables. Approximately 1 cup of vegetables for a 2kg rabbit per day is appropriate. Always introduce vegetables one at a time to ensure that each agrees with your rabbit’s digestive tract.

Carrots are not ideal as they contain a lot of sugar and carbohydrates (baby carrot tops are fine). Avoid gas-forming vegetables such as broccoli and cauliflower. Select at least 3 different types. Suitable vegetables include; alfalfa sprouts, basil, beet greens, broccoli leaves, Brussels sprouts, carrot tops, green peppers, romaine lettuce, outer cabbage leaves, squash, pea pods (not the peas). DO NOT FEED CORN.

Fruit

A small amount of fruit can be fed as a treat or training aid only (not a normal part of the diet). High fibre fruits are best and should not exceed two level tablespoons for a 2kg rabbit per day (ideally less than this or not at all). It is best to feed the same treats consistently to avoid a gastrointestinal upset. Examples; apple, plum, peach, pear, melon, pineapple, raspberry/blackberry/strawberry.
CARING FOR SICK & INJURED WILDLIFE

Gordon Veterinary Hospital sees and treats over one thousand wildlife cases each year, including on public holidays. These animals include possums, bandicoots, birds and reptiles. This service is offered to the general public free of charge. Our veterinary staff work in conjunction with Sydney Metropolitan Wildlife Services and WIRES to rehabilitate sick and injured wildlife. However, it is important to understand that animals that have been severely injured or extremely ill, rendering them unable to survive in the wild, must be humanely euthanased. This is a policy of NSW National Parks and Wildlife and is in the best interests of the welfare of the animal concerned.

What should I do if I find an injured wild animal?

Our hospital really appreciates people bringing in injured and sick wildlife, rather than leaving them to suffer. If an animal has been obviously attacked or hit by a car ,then bring it to us straight away. Be careful handling wildlife; often gardening gloves and a thick towel are a good way to transport them into a cardboard box. By surrendering the animal to us, we are then responsible for the decisions on its welfare.

If you find an abandoned baby animal then please phone Sydney Metropolitan Wildlife services (ph 9413 4300) or WIRES (ph 8977 3333) for advice. In spring, young growing birds are encouraged out of the nest and forced to learn to fly over a 2 week period. This means they are often easy to catch and hopping along the ground. The parents are usually hanging around and still feeding their young at this stage. It is important not to interrupt this process.

Here is a link to a guide for how to manage a baby bird and what to do with it. Sometimes, if a baby bird has fallen out of its nest, it may be necessary to build a new nest for the bird if the real nest is damaged or inaccessible. Here is a link to a guide on how to make a new nest for baby birds. These links are care of Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary.

Each animal is promptly examined by one of the veterinarians and individual computer records made for every case. This makes it easy to allow members of the public to track the progress of the patient. If you would like to know the outcome of the wild animal you have brought in to us, then please phone later that day to discuss the case with a veterinary nurse.

NSW National Parks and Wildlife (NPWS)

If you find an injured, sick or orphaned native animal, you are not allowed to keep it as a pet. The NPWS grants licences to specialist wildlife rehabilitation groups throughout the state. These groups train and assist people to provide optimum care for temporarily disadvantaged native animals and to return them to the wild. The NPWS generally will not allow people who don’t belong to a wildlife rehabilitation group to care for injured native animals. The animals usually need trained expertise and specialised housing and care if they are to be returned to the wild and be able to fend for themselves.

Before the rehabilitation and release of an animal, we must consider its health and physical condition and its ability to survive in the natural environment to which it is being released. Native animals unable to be released into the wild must be euthanased on humane grounds.

For further information, contact NSW National Parks and Wildlife Services at www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au

SEO and Web Design by Online Marketing For Doctors | Sitemap
Book Online