• 关注
  • 关注
  • 关注

鸟类,小型哺乳动物和野生动物

exotics-wildlife虽然我们的大多数病人都是狗和猫,但我们的兽医也对其他物种的护理有经验,包括:

  • 小型哺乳动物(兔子,白鼬,豚鼠,大鼠,小鼠)
  • 野生动物护理(澳大利亚本土动物,例如负鼠,狸,野鸟,爬行动物)
  • 鸟类

对于那些小型哺乳动物,如兔子,正确的营养喂养非常重要。我们推荐OXBOW的食粮 – 国际上兔子兽医强烈推荐的品牌。 有关您的宠物兔,雪貂,豚鼠或啮齿类动物的任何问题,请联系我们9498 3000。

对于复杂的鸟类问题,我们会把你引荐给一个禽类专家。 请打电话联系我们的护士,以确定是否可以在高登动物医院接受治疗或需要禽类专家。 在悉尼Waterloo区有个鸟类专家的诊所,由Alex Rosenwax医生主诊www.birdvet.com.au

对于宠物爬行动物和两栖类动物,我们推荐您跟Crows Nest的David Vella医生预约看诊,请致电9436 4884或访问他的网站:www.davidvella.com.au

我们免费接收本地居民送来的生病和受伤的野生动物。然后由我们的兽医进行诊断评估。当他们恢复得比较好的时候,我们会把他们送到WIRES或悉尼城市野生动物协会的护理人员。

照顾生病和受伤的野生动物

高登动物医院每年都要治疗一千多宗野生动物病例,包括公众假期。 这些动物包括负鼠,蝙蝠,鸟类和爬行动物。 这项服务免费提供给公众。 我们医院员工与悉尼城市野生动物协会和WIRES协会一起工作,一同为生病和受伤的野生动物的康复努力。 然而,必须要明白,那些受到严重伤害或病得很严重的动物无法在野外生存,不得不对它们实施人道的安乐死。这是新南威尔士州国家公园和野生动物的政策,对这些动物也是最好的选择。

如果我发现受伤的野生动物,我该怎么办?

我们医院真的很感谢那些送伤病野生动物来而不是留动物在原地受苦的民众。 如果一只动物明显受到汽车的袭击或撞击,那马上把它带给我们。 小心处理野生动物; 通常,处理这些动物的好方法是用园艺手套和厚毛巾是把它们放到纸板箱里。将动物交给我们,我们将对其福祉的决定负责。

如果您发现一只被遗弃的小动物,请致电悉尼城市野生动物服务协会(电话 9413 4300)或WIRES协会(电话 8977 3333)寻求建议。 在春天,幼鸟被鼓励离巢,被迫学习飞行超过2周的时间。这意味着它们在地面上跳跃且容易被捕捉。在这个阶段,小鸟的父母通常会四处觅食来喂养他们的孩子。重要的是不要打断这一家子。

在线预订

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

Birds, Small Mammals & Wildlife

exotics-wildlifeWhile the majority of our patients are dogs and cats, our vets are also experienced in the veterinary care of other species including:

  • Small mammals (rabbits, ferrets, guinea pigs, rats, mice)
  • Wildlife care (native Australian animals eg possums, bandicoots, wild birds, reptiles)
  • Birds

For small mammals such as rabbits, where the correct nutrition is so important, we stock the recommended diets by OXBOW – strongly recommended by rabbit vets internationally. Please contact us on 9498 3000 for any questions regarding your pet rabbit, ferret, guinea pig or rodent.

For complicated bird problems we will refer you to an avian specialist. Please phone and speak to one of our nurses to determine whether the problem can be treated at Gordon Vet Hospital or requires an avian specialist. There is a bird specialist practice at Waterloo in Sydney, headed by Dr Alex Rosenwax: www.birdvet.com.au

For pet reptiles and amphibians we recommend organising an appointment with Dr David Vella at Crows Nest, by phoning him on 9436 4884 or visiting his website: www.davidvella.com.au

We accept sick and injured wildlife free of charge from members of the local community. They are then assesses by one of our veterinarians. If they are well enough for  rehabilitation they are transferred to carers from WIRES or Sydney Metro Wildlife.

Caring For Sick & Injured Wildlife

Gordon Veterinary Hospital sees and treats over one thousand wildlife cases each year, including on public holidays. These animals include possums, bandicoots, birds and reptiles. This service is offered to the general public free of charge. Our veterinary staff work in conjunction with Sydney Metropolitan Wildlife Services and WIRES to rehabilitate sick and injured wildlife. However, it is important to understand that animals that have been severely injured or extremely ill, rendering them unable to survive in the wild, must be humanely euthanased. This is a policy of NSW National Parks and Wildlife and is in the best.

What should I do if I find an injured wild animal?

Our hospital really appreciates people bringing in injured and sick wildlife, rather than leaving them to suffer. If an animal has been obviously attacked or hit by a car ,then bring it to us straight away. Be careful handling wildlife; often gardening gloves and a thick towel are a good way to transport them into a cardboard box. By surrendering the animal to us, we are then responsible for the decisions on its welfare.

If you find an abandoned baby animal then please phone Sydney Metropolitan Wildlife services (ph 9413 4300) or WIRES (ph 8977 3333) for advice. In spring, young growing birds are encouraged out of the nest and forced to learn to fly over a 2 week period. This means they are often easy to catch and hopping along the ground. The parents are usually hanging around and still feeding their young at this stage. It is important not to interrupt this process.

SEO and Web Design by Online Marketing For Doctors | Sitemap