• 关注

疫苗接种

vaccination接种疫苗(免疫接种)是迈向健康宠物的重要一步。它可以保护你的宠物免受潜在的致命疾病侵袭。在高登动物医院我们每年都要给狗、猫和兔子注射疫苗。

当你带宠物来到高登动物医院接种疫苗时,宠物们也会被非常全面地体检(健康检查)。定期检查你的宠物对他们的健康和接种宠物疫苗一样重要。狗、猫和兔子每年至少要看一次全面的体格检查和检查。

哪些疾病有疫苗?

1)细小病毒(parvo) ——这是犬类最常见的致命传染病之一,尤其是幼犬。症状很快出现,如: 恶臭、血性腹泻、呕吐、食欲不振、抑郁和严重脱水。幼犬也会出现严重的并发症,如严重的会致命的肠炎(小肠的炎症)。

2)犬瘟热——这是一种具有传染性和潜在致命性的疾病,尤其对幼犬有影响。由于大多狗只接种这个疫苗,它现在很少被看到。病症症状有:

  1. 打喷嚏、咳嗽、鼻塞、眼疾、呕吐、腹泻、食欲不振、嗜睡
  2. 严重的神经系统症状,如癫痫发作和瘫痪

3)肝炎——传染性犬型肝炎(腺病毒):这种病毒有两种形式可以影响狗的健康。

  1. 甲型肝炎可导致急性肝衰竭,引起犬型肝炎(IHC)
  2. 乙型可能是犬舍咳病的一部分。症状包括:呕吐、咳嗽、黄疸、食欲不振、腹痛、体重减轻、酗酒和小便次数增多。

4) 狗喀嗽病 (犬气管炎)俗称“犬舍咳”。它是一种各年龄的狗都可能患上的传染性的呼吸道疾病,是一种结合的感染性病毒和细菌的病症,症状有:

干咳、鼻漏、食欲不振、重症肺炎。

小狗得了犬舍咳会变得很不舒服。犬舍咳在成年犬中相当常见,容易在寄养狗舍中传播,甚至在狗只交往中也可以通过空气传播。接种疫苗的狗通常比未接种的狗症状更温和。治疗方法是使用消炎药、抗生素和止咳药。

我的小狗应该什么时候接种疫苗?

接种疫苗(免疫接种)是保护幼犬免受一些潜在致命疾病的重要手段。小狗生命的最初几周,它们的母亲通过她的奶给它们提供抗体。这些抗体能对抗疾病,并给予幼犬免疫力。然而,母体抗体不能持续,所以幼犬需要接种疫苗来产生自身抗体。这样可以增强他们自身的免疫力,这样他们就可以在成年后免受疾病的影响。幼犬通常有间隔约4周的三套接种疗程。

在高登动物医院,我们发现以下的时间表是最有效的:

  • 6 – 8周:犬瘟热、肝炎和细小病毒。这种注射剂通常是在小狗养殖者把小狗交给你之前,他们给小狗打的。
  • 12 – 14周:犬瘟热、肝炎、细小病毒、博德氏病毒和副流感病毒。这通常是新兽医为你的小狗做的第一个疫苗注射。在高登动物医院,我们给你的小狗注射疫苗,并给它们一个健康检查(身体检查)以确保它们是健康的。我们还会讨论你作为一个新的宠物主人可能会遇到的许多其他问题(见下面的健康检查)
  • 16 – 18周的犬瘟热、肝炎、细小病毒、博德氏病毒和副流感病毒。这是最后一次的小狗接种。幼犬应与未知的接种/健康状况的狗只隔离,直到完成最后的幼犬接种。这意味着他们不应与可能没有接种的狗混在一起。每年有需要打疫苗增强剂来维持你小狗的生命健康。你的兽医每年都会提示你何时小狗需要大疫苗增强剂。
  • 备注:如果收养你的小狗时它已经较大,那么任何时候都可以开始接种疫苗。
  • 小狗健康检查:当你的小狗在高登动物医院接受疫苗接种时,我们将对其进行全面的健康检查和体检。我们也会和你讨论其他重要的护理方法来保持他或她的安全和健康。这些包括:
  1. 心虫和肠蠕动
  2. 跳蚤和蜱虫防治
  3. 幼犬训练/厕所训练/一般行为
  4. 喂食
  5. 植入芯片

当我的宠物是成年后会发生什么?

年度疫苗接种和健康检查

在第三次给小狗或小猫接种疫苗后,下一次疫苗接种将在12个月后,然后每年一次。高登动物医院我们会提醒你接种疫苗的时间。

会诊包括全面检测和宠物体检。定期检查你的狗和猫对它们的健康和打疫苗一样重要。即使你的宠物健康状况良好,定期检查也能保证你的宠物健康长寿。这是“预防胜于治疗”的方法! 很多关于你的宠物的信息可以在他们的健康检查中发现。例如,可以发现严重疾病的早期预警信号。当疾病发现得早,许多时候可以预防或延迟疾病加剧。随着年龄的增长或特殊的病况,宠物至少需要每6个月检查一次。

在高登动物医院,我们将为您的宠物提供全面的“从鼻子到尾巴”的检查。在您来诊期间,我们的兽医将检查并和你讨论:

  • 宠物的体重(每次来诊,我们都记录宠物的体重,这样可以确认你宠物的体重是否稳定)
  • 皮肤和皮毛(一般情况,检查是否有肿块和肿块)
  • 耳朵(寻找感染的迹象)
  • 眼睛(普通考试,讨论主人观察到宠物的行为)
  • 牙科检查(寻找牙齿疾病、口臭的症状)
  • 心脏/肺(使用听诊器)
  • 肌肉骨骼检查(肌肉和骨骼)
  • 腹部触诊(感觉腹部)
  • 寄生虫控制
    • 体内寄生虫(检查你的宠物是否有合适的心虫和肠虫预防)
    • 体外寄生虫(检查你的宠物是否得到适当的跳蚤和蜱虫的预防)

在每年的体检中,你需要做一些基本的事情来确保你的猫或狗保持健康

  • 提供优质、营养的饮食(例如Hill’s Science Diet)
  • 宠物牙科保健
  • 宠物体重控制(常规饮食和运动)
  • 保持适当的寄生控制(内部和外部)
  • 密切关注你的宠物的整体健康状况(观察你的行为变化,比如不吃东西,嗜睡等)
  • 当你注意到宠物的变化时,尽快征求兽医建议

哪些疾病可以接种疫苗?

  • 猫科动物上呼吸道感染或“猫流感” ——猫流感是目前为止我们发现的最常见可接种疫苗疾病。

症状包括:打喷嚏、鼻涕、结膜炎、发烧和食欲不振。严重的情况下,会看到口腔和眼睛溃疡。这种疾病特别对年幼的猫咪,比较老年或免疫较弱的猫咪是可致命的。

猫流感症状通常是由一种或两种猫流感病毒——猫疱疹病毒和猫毒病毒引起的。

猫疱疹病毒会引起危及宠物生命的疾病,尽管大多数感染的猫会完全康复,但它们通常会留下永久性的后遗症,例如“鼻吸”或慢性眼部感染。有时候,猫会成为该病毒的终身载体,而当猫感到大压力的时候 (比如猫要去寄宿或猫不舒服) ,这疾病容易复发。这种情况下,病毒携带者对其他未接种疫苗的猫具有高度传染性。

猫的杯状病毒会引起疼痛的口腔溃疡,使猫难以进食。溃疡可以发生在口腔、硬腭或鼻子上。

  • 猫肠炎(猫细小病毒),死亡率很高,尤其是未接种的小猫。受影响的小猫病得很快,伴有严重的呕吐和血性腹泻。通过接种疫苗预防猫肠炎要比治疗好得多。
  • 猫白血病病毒(FeLV)会严重削弱免疫系统,使猫容易受到各种疾病和感染的侵袭。猫之间的感染来源于于亲密的同类接触,例如猫打架。这种病毒通过唾液传播,甚至可以通过猫的自身清洁或分享食物的碗来传播。猫通常会被感染终生随着时间的推移逐渐恶化,并导致慢性疾病。
  • 猫科类免疫缺陷病毒(FIV)或猫类艾滋病也会导致免疫系统的弱化。这种是可选性的疫苗,主要用于有户外活动的有感染病毒的风险猫,。

我的小猫什么时候应该接种疫苗?

接种疫苗是保护您的小猫免受潜在致命性病毒感染的手段。
在高登动物医院,我们发现以下接种时间安排是最有效的:

  • 6-8    猫肠炎和猫流感(F3)
  • 12       猫肠炎,猫流感,白血病(F4)
  • 16     猫肠炎,猫流感,白血病(F4)

每年的疫苗接种将持续宠物终生。每年我们都提醒给你前来为动物免疫。

如果我想把狗或猫送去寄宿呢?

您的狗或猫的必须及时接种疫苗(即在过去一年内受到免疫)才能进入寄宿设施。

一些狗的寄养狗舍需要“犬舍咳”( 狗喀嗽病)的疫苗里含有:博德特氏菌和狗副流行性感冒病毒(Bordetella和Para influenza),通过名为“支气管盾”的鼻内疫苗直接进入呼吸道。我们通常在5 合1疫苗的注射剂中使用这种成分,因为这样更容易处理,而且大多数犬类会接受常规的C5疫苗。请先检查一下你打算送宠物去的寄宿狗舍,了解他们更喜欢哪一种疫苗处理方式,然后再来接种疫苗。

如果你不确定寄宿的免疫要求,请给高登动物医院电话,我们可以为您解释一下。

如果我想把我的狗或猫带到海外呢?

如果你把你的狗或猫带到海外,可能需要打更多的疫苗。

请打高登动物医院电话9498 3000与我们联络,并与我们的检疫兽医(DAFF认证)谈谈来获取更多相关信息。

我们的DAFF认证兽医是:Scott Lackenby医生和David Loneragan医生

我的兔子需要接种疫苗吗?

兔子每隔10个月就要接种一次杯狀病毒科疫苗。这种病毒也被称为兔出血热疾病伴随高死亡率。受感染的兔子出现严重腹泻、腹胀和发烧的症状。由于出血,也可能引发多种器官衰竭。它也具有高度传染性,容易通过空气中的微粒传播,也可以通过蚊子等昆虫传播。

我的兔子几岁开始需要接种疫苗?

兔子应该在10-12周之间接种疫苗,然后在接下来每10个月内接种一次。 这也包括每年的健康检查,这是非常重要的,以确保你的兔子保持健康。

那么粘液瘤呢?

不幸的是,我们仍然看到许多粘液瘤病例。 由于政府的规定,澳大利亚没有针对粘液瘤的疫苗。 粘液瘤是一种令兔子虚弱,痛苦的疾病,兔子会出现眼睛,生殖器和耳朵肿胀以及严重的呼吸问题。 死亡率几乎百分之百。不幸的是,许多兔子长时间携带这种疾病,并一直忍受疾病苦痛至死。 晚上应该放下蚊帐里,以避免兔子通过蚊子感染这类疾病。

Online presence by Pet Pack | Web Design by Online Marketing for Doctors | 网站地图
在线预订
Gordon Vet Hospital
4.8
Based on 116 reviews
powered by Google
Lisa Elliott
Lisa Elliott
06:17 20 Oct 20
I can't rate Gordon Vet Hospital any higher. I took my 11yr old staffy in for surgery with the beautiful Imogene Ewen (amazing surgeon) and was managed by incredibly professional front office staff (Maddie). My dog, Coco was in the best of hands. The after care service is detailed and their love of animals is so very clear to all who enter. Exceptional service for the North Shore.
Jonathan Summers
Jonathan Summers
09:51 09 Oct 20
We love these guys. We have 3 cats and they are all well looked after.
jo kleoudis
jo kleoudis
22:08 04 Oct 20
Best vets and nursing staff. Great advice. Convenient and always easy to book.
Roopam Ghosh
Roopam Ghosh
10:49 25 Sep 20
Great service and very prompt with appointments. Lovely staff
Michelle Keir
Michelle Keir
08:30 01 Sep 20
Great service my dog loves going there! The staff are very caring and the vets very knowledgeable and do not over service.
Ayanthi Gooneratne
Ayanthi Gooneratne
06:22 24 Aug 20
The Vets are fantastic and so are the support staff. My dogs have been with Gorden Vets for over 10 years.
Steve Walker
Steve Walker
11:33 11 Aug 20
Helen was great. Took great care of our dog.
Eve Barratt
Eve Barratt
01:17 04 Aug 20
I took our little girl Coco for her very first vet visit yesterday. Dr Helen gave Coco a thoroughly check-up and provided me with useful information as the first time puppy owner. Coco is now enrolled in the puppy school and will return back for her 2nd vaccine in a couple of week!
Claire Turner
Claire Turner
05:21 19 Jul 20
Care & attention for your furry friends second to none.
Kimba
Kimba
02:50 09 Jul 20
Dr David and the team have provided real care, support and expertise for our furry family members over 25 years. They've also readily taken in injured wildlife. A great team of Vets and nurses - thanks for all you do!
Jayna Hirani
Jayna Hirani
03:43 09 Apr 20
Quality care and advice at every visit. The staff are friendly and informative and genuinely care about your pets. I am 100% confident that my cat and dog always receive the best pet healthcare and as pet parents that's all we want.
Marianne Broeng
Marianne Broeng
23:23 28 Jan 20
Gordon Vet has looked after my golden retriever since she was 9 weeks. Everyone has been amazing and caring with lots of experience. I have been able to ask any questions and always been welcome. Even one day when she stepped on a bee in the evening, they stayed open until we got there and helped her get it out. Thanks to all the staff :-)
Lizzie Wei
Lizzie Wei
00:56 18 Jan 20
We just moved to Gordon couple month ago and need to get my cat vaccinated. We found this hospital through google and I need to say they provide excellent service and very professional! The doctor really knows cat. Highly recommended!
Lara Bisley
Lara Bisley
08:15 27 Nov 19
Exceptional veterinary hospital. I have been taking my dog here for many years and although I now live in the Eastern Suburbs, I still drive across town to see the Vets at Gordon. The staff are highly skilled, compassionate, friendly and helpful. My 9 year old dog has had 2 knee operations (1 on each knee!) and the outcome of these surgeries far exceeded my expectations. I have been incredibly impressed with the care provided during all of our visits. I would highly recommend Gordon Vet Hospital.
Eugenie Goodyer
Eugenie Goodyer
23:22 21 Oct 19
Very friendly staff. Wonderful care for all our animals A++
Jennie Keogh
Jennie Keogh
06:36 21 Oct 19
Fantastic and friendly staff who you can tell really care about your pet. Their follow up service is also very reassuring. I also board my cat with Gordon Vet and I feel very comfortable to know he's in safe and caring hands. I'm so glad I found this clinic.
Newsha Amiri
Newsha Amiri
20:24 03 Oct 19
We took our dog there and Dr. David take care of his skin issues. he was so caring and professional.
Luxe Sydney Mum
Luxe Sydney Mum
06:37 02 Sep 19
Compassionate, caring and highly skilled veterinary surgeons who treat their patients and owners with respect. The nursing and administration staff are efficient and remember their patients by name which is a lovely touch. A lovely vet practice which despite our Golden Retriever Finn’s complex medical history, is always welcoming to him and he never displays any signs of anxiety when attending. Dr Helen is lovely and a firm favourite of ours!
Lihong Xing
Lihong Xing
05:00 05 Nov 18
Highly recommend Dr David, Scott, Helen, and Catherine, I've taken my cat to see all the doctors here.
Jeremy Tarbox
Jeremy Tarbox
22:55 10 Sep 18
We found a stray, agitated dog in front of our house last night. We phoned but got no help from the Council ranger who gave two options: tie him up in front yard overnight or "let him loose, he'll find his own way home" :( So we phoned Gordon Vet: they stayed open a few minutes so we could run him up and he could have a bed and dinner. Thank you Gordon Vet Hospital, hope he gets home soon!!! :)
Vishal Kapoor
Vishal Kapoor
01:52 04 Sep 18
Really amazing staff members. Their systems and processes are also very
Gerry Stevens
Gerry Stevens
11:01 14 Jul 18
Good competant vet. Did what I needed. Staff friendly. Cat's well.
Arezu A
Arezu A
03:20 15 Feb 18
Absolutely love the service here. I switched from other Vets to this Vet as the staff here are quite attentive and really care about your furry baby! I have basically seen most of the Dr's here and all of them so far have been fantastic, friendly and fun to speak with! Easy to locate and enough parking available! 5 Stars indeed!
See All Reviews

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

Vaccination

vaccination
Vaccination (immunisation) is a very important step towards a healthy pet. It protects your pet against some potentially fatal diseases At Gordon Vet Hospital, we routinely vaccinate dogs, cats and rabbits every year.
When your pet comes to Gordon Vet Hospital for a vaccination, they are also given a very thorough physical examination (Health Check). A Regular Health Check for your pet is just as important for their health as pet vaccinations. Dogs, cats and rabbits should be seen at least once every year for a full physical examination and check up.

Dogs

What diseases are covered in a vaccination?

1) Parvovirus (parvo) – This is one of the most common fatal infectious diseases in dogs, especially puppies. The symptoms come on quite rapidly and include; foul smelling, bloody diarrhoea, vomiting, loss of appetite, depression and severe dehydration. Puppies can also develop serious complications such as severe enteritis (inflammation of the small intestine) which can be fatal.

2) Canine Distemper – This is a contagious and potentially fatal disease that especially affects puppies. It is now rarely seen due to dogs being vaccinated against it. The symptoms are:

a. sneezing, coughing and thick nose and eye discharge, vomiting and diarrhoea, loss of appetite and lethargy
b. severe neurological symptoms such as seizures and paralysis can develop

3) Hepatitis – Infectious Canine Hepatitis (Adenovirus): There are two forms of this virus that can affect dogs.

a. Type 1, causes Infectious Canine Hepatitis (IHC), which can lead to acute liver failure
b. Type 2 can be part of Kennel Cough. The symptoms if IHC include: vomiting, coughing, jaundice, loss of appetite, abdominal pain, weight loss, drinking and urinating more often.

4) Canine Cough – (Canine Tracheitis) is commonly called “Kennel Cough”. It is a contagious respiratory disease in dogs of all ages and is a combination of infectious viral and bacterial agents.

The symptoms are:

a. a dry hacking cough, nasal discharge, loss of appetite and in severe cases, pneumonia.

Puppies that develop Kennel Cough can become quite ill. Kennel Cough is fairly common in adult dogs and can be transmitted in boarding kennels, or even in social interactions between dogs as it is transmitted via air. Dogs that are vaccinated generally have much milder symptoms than unvaccinated dogs. Treatment is with anti-inflammatories, antibiotics and cough suppressants.

When should my puppy be vaccinated?

Vaccinations (Immunisations) are an important means of protecting your puppy against some potentially fatal diseases. For the first few weeks of a puppy’s life, their mother provides them with antibodies through her milk. These antibodies fight disease and give puppies immunity. The maternal antibodies do not last however, so puppies need to be vaccinated to produce their own antibodies. This builds up their own immunity so they can be protected from disease into adulthood. Puppies usually have a course of three vaccinations, normally given 4 weeks apart.
At Gordon Vet Hospital, we find the following schedule to be most effective:

  • 6-8 weeks Distemper, Hepatitis and Parvovirus. This injection is usually given to the puppy by the breeder before you pick them up.
  • 12-14 weeks Distemper, Hepatitis, Parvovirus, Bordetella and Parainfluenza. This injection is usually the first one that is done by the puppy’s new vet. At Gordon Vet Hospital we vaccinate your puppy and give them a full health check (physical examination) to make sure they are healthy. We also discuss lots of other concerns you may have as a new pet owner (see Below in Health Checks)
  • 16-18 weeks Distemper, Hepatitis, Parvovirus, Bordetella and Parainfluenza. This is the final puppy vaccination. Puppies should be isolated from dogs of unknown vaccination / health status until after their final puppy vaccination. This means that they should not be mixing with dogs that may not be vaccinated. Yearly boosters are needed for life to maintain your puppy’s protection. Your vet will send you a reminder each year when your dog is due for the next vaccine booster.
  • NB: If your puppy is older when you acquire it, a vaccination schedule is commenced anytime during puppy or adult hood.
  • Puppy Health Check: When your puppy has its vaccinations at Gordon Vet Hospital, we will do a full health check and physical examination. We will also discuss with you other important ways to keep him or her safe and healthy. These include:

a. Heartworm and Intestinal worming
b. Flea and tick prevention
c. Puppy training / toilet training / general behaviour
d. Diet
e. Microchipping

What happens when my pet is an adult?
Annual Vaccination & Health Check

After the 3rd puppy or kitten vaccination, the next vaccination is due 12 months later and then every year after that. At Gordon Vet Hospital we send you a reminder of when this vaccination is due.

The consultation includes a full physical examination and check up. Regular Health Checks for your dog and cat are just as important for your pet’s health as vaccinations. Even though your pet may be in perfect health, regular check ups ensure your pet has continued health and longevity. It is the ‘prevention is better than cure’ approach! Quite a lot of information about your pet can be uncovered during their health check. For example, early warning signs of serious problems can be noticed. When detected early, many problems can be prevented or delayed. As they get older or develop a special medical condition, the check up should be at least every 6 months.

At Gordon Vet Hospital we will provide your pet with a comprehensive ‘nose-to tail’ examination. During your visit, one of our vets will look at and discuss:

  • Weight (this is recorded at every visit so that we can see whether your pet’s weight is steady)
  • Skin and coat (general condition and lumps and bumps)
  • Ears (looking for signs of infection)
  • Eyes (general exam, discuss anything owner has observed)
  • Dental Examination (looking for signs of dental disease, bad breath)
  • Heart /Lungs (using a stethoscope)
  • Musculoskeletal exam (muscle and bones)
  • Abdominal palpation (feel their abdomen)
  • Parasite control
    • Internal Parasites (check that your pet is on suitable heartworm and intestinal worm prevention)
    • External Parasites (check that your pet is on suitable flea and tick prevention)

In between the annual check up there are some basic things you need to do to make sure your cat or dog stays as healthy as possible.

  • Feed a good quality, nutritious diet (e.g. Hill’s Science Diet)
  • Pet Dental care
  • Weight control (a regular diet and exercise)
  • Maintain proper parasitic control (Internal and External)
  • Keep a close eye on your pet’s general wellbeing (observing any change in behaviour such as not eating, lethargy etc)
  • Seek veterinary advice as soon as you notice changes in your pet

Cats

What diseases are covered in a vaccination?

1) Feline Upper Respiratory Tract Infection or “cat flu” – Cat flu is by far the most common vaccinated disease we see today.
Symptoms include: sneezing, nasal discharge, conjunctivitis, fever and loss of appetite. In severe cases, mouth and eye ulcers are seen. The disease can be fatal in some cases, particularly in susceptible cats such as the very young, the very old or immunosuppressed cats.

Cat flu symptoms are usually caused by infection with one or both of the cat flu viruses – Feline herpes virus and Feline calicivirus.

Feline herpes virus can cause life-threatening illness and although the majority of cats infected make a full recovery, they are often left with permanent effects of the disease, such as the “snuffles” or chronic eye infections. Sometimes cats become carriers for life and the disease represents itself in times of stress (for example visiting the cattery or when the cat is unwell). During these times, the carriers are highly contagious to other cats that are not vaccinated.

Feline calicivirus can cause painful mouth ulcers which make it difficult for the cat to eat. The ulcers can occur in the mouth, hard palate or on the nose.

2) Feline Enteritis (Feline Parvovirus) and has a very high mortality rate, particularly in unvaccinated kittens. Affected kittens become sick very quickly, with severe vomiting and bloody diarrhoea. Feline enteritis is far better prevented by vaccination than treated.

3) Feline Leukaemia Virus (FeLV) causes severe weakening of the immune system, leaving the cat vulnerable to a wide variety of other diseases and infections. Infection between cats relies on close contact e.g. cat fights. The virus is transmitted in saliva and so can even be transmitted by grooming or sharing food bowls. Cats usually remain infected for life, leading to chronic disease and a progressive deterioration in health over time.

4) Feline Immunodeficiency Virus (FIV) or Feline AIDS causes weakening of the immune system also. This vaccine is optional for outdoor cats that are risk of contracting Feline AIDS.

When should my kitten be vaccinated?

Vaccinations are a means of protecting your kitten against potentially fatal viral diseases of cats.
At Gordon Vet Hospital we find the following schedule to be the most effective:

  • 6-8 weeks Feline Enteritis and Cat Flu (F3)
  • 12 weeks Feline Enteritis, Cat Flu, Leukaemia (F4)
  • 16 weeks Feline Enteritis, Cat Flu, Leukaemia (F4)

Annual vaccinations are continued for life. A reminder will be sent to you each year.

What if I want to board my dog or cat?

Vaccinations for your dog or cat must be up to date (i.e. have been done within the last year) for your pet to be allowed into a boarding facility.

Some dog boarding kennels require the “kennel cough” (Canine Cough) component of the vaccine (Bordetella and Para influenza) be administered directly into the respiratory tract via an intranasal vaccine called Bronchi shield. We usually administer this component in an injectable formulation in the 5-in-1 vaccine, as it is much easier to administer that way and most kennels will accept regular C5 vaccines. Please check with your boarding kennel prior to coming in for vaccination as to which route of administration they prefer.

Please give us a call at Gordon Vet Hospital and we can explain it if you are unsure.

What if I want to take my dog or cat overseas?

Additional vaccines may be required if you are taking your dog or cat overseas.
Please contact us at Gordon Vet on 9498 3000 and speak with one of our quarantine vets (DAFF Accredited) for further information.
Our DAFF Accredited Vets are: Dr Scott Lackenby and Dr David Loneragan

Rabbits

Does my rabbit need a vaccination?

Rabbits require a vaccination every 10 months against calicivirus. Also known as Rabbit Haemorrhagic Disease, calicivirus is associated with a very high mortality rate, with affected rabbits showing signs of severe diarrhea, bloating and fever. Multiple organ failure can occur due to haemorrhage. It is also highly contagious, spreading easily through particles in the air or via insects such as mosquitoes.

At what age does my rabbit need a vaccination?

Rabbits should be vaccinated between 10-12 weeks of age, then a booster given every 10 months after that for life. This also includes an annual health check, which is extremely important to ensure your rabbit remains healthy.

What about myxomatosis?

Unfortunately, we still see many cases of myxomatosis. There is no vaccine against myxomatosis available in Australia due to government regulations. Myxomatosis is a debilitating, painful disease where rabbits develop swollen eyes, genitalia and ears and severe breathing problems. The mortality rate is almost 100% but unfortunately many rabbits carry the disease for a long time and suffer before they die. Mosquito nets should be put over the hutch at night to help avoid contracting these diseases.

 

SEO and Web Design by Online Marketing For Doctors | Sitemap