• 关注
  • 关注
  • 关注

狗,猫的蜱虫麻痹预防和治疗

麻痹蜱

尽管世界各地都有蜱虫,但麻痹蜱(Ixodes holocyclus)只发现澳大利亚有。 它仅存在于昆士兰州北部到维多利亚州北部的湿润的澳大利亚东海岸。 不仅我们懂得欣赏悉尼Ku Ring Gai区域的自然美景,蜱螨特别喜欢悉尼的北海岸和北海滩区域。

每个春季和夏季,我们的接待处有张Ku Ring Gai区的地图,标记了当季蜱麻痹患者的位置。 这对确定蜱活跃区域非常有帮助。

The east coast of Australia is where paralysis ticks are prevalent

蜱虫主要在澳洲东岸繁衍散播

The Paralysis Tick (Ixodes holocyclus)

麻痹蜱虫 (Ixodes holocyclus)

瘫痪蜱虫在哪里?

负鼠和狸是瘫痪蜱的天然宿主,与其他澳大利亚本土野生动物一样,通常不受其毒素的影响。 也就是说瘫痪蜱虫对他们没有伤害。然而,瘫痪蜱很喜欢寄生在狗,猫和人类身上。 我们的宠物穿过草地或灌木丛,这些有本地动物特别是负鼠和狸的区域时,蜱虫会粘附上来。 这意味着悉尼北岸周围的国家公园和丛林都是高风险地区。 事实上,大多数宠物在离开房子后院时都有机会受到蜱虫袭击。 蜱虫可能会从树上掉落到宠物身上,或者可能从地面爬上身。 即使是以前似乎没有蜱的后院也不能被认为是安全的没有问题的。 谁知道什么时候一个负鼠或狸会走过呢?

The bandicoot – a natural host of the paralysis tick

狸 – 瘫痪蜱的天然宿主

The possum – a natural host of the paralysis tick

负鼠 – 瘫痪蜱的天然宿主

从每年的八月到二月是蜱虫致瘫的最严重时期,在高登动物医院,我们全年都有治疗蜱虫致瘫的病例。 根据我们的经验,当温暖的天气下雨后,蜱特别普遍。 在悉尼,这样的现象并不罕见。

近年来,高登动物医院处理的蜱瘫痪病例的数量在增加。 我们怀疑全球变暖,气候变化和负鼠数量的增加,正在导致蜱种群数量的增加。 当地环境的因素,如杂草丛生,堆肥和覆盖也会造成蜱虫增加。 人和狗聚集在公园里树下的草地,阴凉的地方,也常常容易受到蜱虫滋扰。

瘫痪蜱虫的生命周期

虫卵孵化成幼虫后,他们会爬上附近的植被,等待动物来。 通常他们等来的是负鼠或者是白兔,但是狗或者猫经过,他们也会爬上去。 蜱虫幼虫将它的口器挖入动物的皮肤,开始吸血,注射神经毒素。 虽然蜱虫开始很小只,但随着血液的充盈,它的体积也随之增长。 一旦幼虫填满血液,它会在宿主身上脱落,蜕皮,成为若虫蜱。 然后使用新的宿主动物重复进食和蜕皮过程。 在这个阶段之后,蜱虫成为最危险的生命阶段,一个麻痹蜱成虫。 一旦雌性麻痹蜱成虫充满血液,她从宿主上掉下来,产下3000个卵,准备再次开始蜱虫族群的新的生命周期。

The sizes of paralysis ticks through their life stages

瘫痪蜱虫在生命周期不同阶段的大小变化

蜱麻痹的迹象

当雌性麻痹蜱吸血同时会注射一种神经毒素在宿主身体神经与肌肉相接之处。通常,蜱虫需要约3-4天的摄食才会注入足够的毒素以导致宿主出现生病迹象。 最初的宿主生病的迹象是模糊的,但在接下来的几天里迹象会越来越明显。 我们研究出最常见的临床症状是:

  • 呕吐,反胃或拒绝进食
  • 声音的变化(树皮或喵声可能会变得嘶哑)
  • 后腿虚弱
  • 缺乏协调或无力爬楼梯,(可能进展崩溃和瘫痪)
  • 呼吸问题 – 气喘,咳嗽或呼吸缓慢
  • 重要的是要知道,偶尔病人不会发展蜱的常见迹象
  • 瘫痪,并可能出现其他疾病迹象。

随着中毒的进行,宠物不能站立,呼吸困难。 最终,未经治疗的蜱中毒将导致宿主的死亡。

除去你宠物身上的麻痹蜱

如果您不确定是否有蜱虫,请不要犹豫,打电话给我们的兽医或护士, 让我们看看。 麻痹蜱成虫有非常长的倒刺口器嵌入宠物的皮肤,这使得他们很难被去除。 可以用镊子把蜱抓得尽可能靠近皮肤,或者最好用硬蜱拔除器除蜱。 如果蜱虫口器脱落,蜱虫就会死亡,因此不能再产生更多的毒素或造成更深的伤口。 该伤口可能会受到感染,我们建议尽量去除蜱虫口器并用消毒剂处理伤口。

How to use a Tick Twister

如何使用硬蜱拔除器

除去你宠物身上的蜱后请注意并密切监管您的宠物。 不要让他们运动,只提供他们少量的食物和水。 由于蜱毒素作用缓慢,宠物可能会在剔除蜱后几天才发生中毒麻痹。

如果您的宠物出现任何疾病迹象,或者如果你宠物身上除去的蜱很大只,请立即致电高登动物医院安排预约。 你的宠物越早治疗,恢复得越好。

A bottle of Tick Anti serum

瓶装抗蜱虫毒素

在高登动物医院治疗蜱麻痹

如果您怀疑或者您发现您的宠物有蜱虫,请立即致电高登动物医院。 我们将重点处理您的宠物。

到达后,我们会仔细检查您的宠物,评估蜱麻痹的等级,并提供所需的紧急护理。 我们会给蜱麻痹患者注射镇静剂,使他们平静减低压力。 然后,我们在动物的前腿静脉通过滴管导入抗毒素。 该抗毒素由高免疫狗的血清制成,是非常谨慎制作的血液制品。 蜱抗毒素不是解毒剂。 它只能中和尚未进入的神经末梢的毒素,因此如果尽早给予抗毒效果最好。 它不能使患病动物持续地对蜱虫毒素有免疫力。 宠物会被我们彻底检查和进行消毒冲洗,以确保没有剩余的蜱虫。

大多数蜱中毒的宠物会发生喉咙和食道功能瘫痪。 他们失去了吞咽食物和水的能力,这麻痹将蔓延到胃部,并增加动物得胃液返流和严重肺炎的风险。 重要的是,我们不要给宠物食物或水来增加这个并发症的风险。 在高登动物医院,我们经常评估动物的吞咽能力,一旦他们病情好转,我们才提供水和食物。 此外,我们抽出动物在喉咙后面积累的液体,使动物呼吸更容易。

A paralysis tick being identified and removed

瘫痪蜱虫被发现并移除图示

蜱麻痹患者如果失去眨眼能力,需要眼睛护理,如果失去排尿能力,则需要膀胱护理。 重要的是,他们都需要冷静,安静和TLC。

患病宠物经常需要静脉输液以保持体内水分充足。 不幸的是,有些宠物会出现肺炎和更严重的呼吸困难。 他们可能需要X光片,静脉注射抗生素,血气分析,插管和通气。 所有这些治疗都可以在高登动物医院完成。 如有需要,我们也会把病人转到其他急诊医院。

Hospitalisation is important for recovery from tick paralysis

住院治疗对蜱中毒瘫痪的病患尤其重要

重点注意的是,蜱麻痹是不可预测的。 偶尔,患者病情会突然地恶化。 有些患病动物恢复非常缓慢。 我们将尽力让您及时了解您宠物的病情进展,预后和治疗费用,但如果您有任何疑问,请不要犹豫,马上联系我们。

蜱幼虫

通常被称为“草蜱”的瘫痪蜱幼虫在秋季和冬季尤其普遍。 当他们第一次附在动物身上; 直径只有0.5mm,几乎不可能被发现。 在附身的4到6天里,当他们吸食宿主血液后,它们会膨胀而变得明显。 在高登动物医院,我们发现许多狗和猫因被被麻痹蜱虫幼虫叮咬吸食而刺激表现出强烈困扰和不适。 偶尔,只要足够数量的幼虫蜱便能引起一只小动物蜱中毒。 正确使用Frontline喷雾将杀死并使蜱幼虫在未来几天内掉落。

蜱虫的预防

在高登动物医院,我们强烈建议蜱预防的两个重要组成部分。 两者都需要完成。

1. 每日检查身体是否有蜱虫:即使您的宠物正在进行蜱虫防治也必须在蜱虫季节每天进行检查。大部分蜱虫都躲在宠物的头部,颈部或肩膀上。 检查蜱虫最有效的方法是用手指沿着皮肤系统地检查直到查完宠物的整个身体。 相比肉眼看,用手指更容易感觉到蜱虫。 如果你发现一个蜱虫不要停止搜索,大多宠物身上会有第二个。 在春季和夏季梳理和修剪动物的长毛可以更容易地找到蜱虫。

A paralysis tick in the fur and an engorged paralysis tick

藏在皮毛中的瘫痪蜱虫 (左)和吸足够血的蜱虫(右)

2.蜱虫预防:

a.狗

两种选择:使用口服药物或局部涂抹点滴剂。

Nexgard是一款咀嚼片,每月给狗喂食一次能预防蚤和瘫痪蜱。 是全年都能使用理想的选择。 它只适用于狗。 Nexgard不受游泳或洗澡的影响,小狗8周就可以开始安全使用。 偶尔会引起狗只的呕吐或腹泻。

Advantix是一种外用产品,每隔两周涂抹一次在狗的皮肤(脖子后部)预防蜱虫和跳蚤。 使用Advantix两天内,狗不能游泳或洗澡。 从狗狗7周开始使用是安全的。 Advantix对猫有很高的毒性。 它不能用在猫身上,当家里猫时,应该小心使用这个产品。

Frontline Top Spot是另一种外用产品,滴剂可以每两周涂抹在狗狗皮肤,狗8周可以开始安全使用。 此外,该品牌除了喷雾剂,可以每三周喷涂整个狗狗的皮毛, 两天大的小狗都可以安全使用。 Frontline产品使用后两天内不得游泳或洗澡。

蜱虫防御项圈:市场上有几种项圈,只能作为上述方法之一的辅助,用在狗类身上。

b. 猫

为猫选择防蜱虫产品时,请选择已注册的可用于猫的产品。 几种狗类防蜱虫产品对猫都有高度毒性,因此不要使用不是为猫科而特设的产品。 如果您已经将狗的产品应用于您的猫,请立即致电高登动物医院 9498 3000。

Frontline Spray是唯一注册的专门为猫科动物而设的预防蜱虫产品。 你的猫需要没三周喷涂全身皮毛一次。 从2天大的猫就开始安全地使用。 必须喷洒整个猫猫的身体,这可能很难做到。 如果你有需要的话,我们会在高登动物医院为您喷涂您的猫 。 只要给我们个电话跟护士打个招呼就可以了。

Frontline Top Spot是每两周应用于猫咪皮肤的另一种外用产品。 它没有作为猫的蜱虫预防药品而注册,但是许多猫主人使用这种产品,因为它比Frontline Spray使用简便。 从猫8周开始就可以安全使用了。

如果您的宠物有蜱虫,或者您担心它可能会有,请致电9498 3000高登动物医院。我们平日开放时间为上午7时至晚上8时,星期六早上8时到下午5时,周日早上9时到下午5时。 上述时间以外,请拨打我们的电话号码,我们的工作时间兽医或北岸紧急兽医服务将为您提供指示。

在线预订
Lihong Xing
Lihong Xing
05:00 05 Nov 18
Highly recommend Dr David, Scott, Helen, and Catherine, I've taken my cat to see all the doctors here.
Vishal Kapoor
Vishal Kapoor
01:52 04 Sep 18
Really amazing staff members. Their systems and processes are also very
Arezu A
Arezu A
03:20 15 Feb 18
Absolutely love the service here. I switched from other Vets to this Vet as the staff here are quite attentive and really care about your furry baby! I have basically seen most of the Dr's here and all of them so far have been fantastic, friendly and fun to speak with! Easy to locate and enough parking available! 5 Stars indeed!
Gerry Stevens
Gerry Stevens
11:01 14 Jul 18
Good competant vet. Did what I needed. Staff friendly. Cat's well.
Jeremy Tarbox
Jeremy Tarbox
22:55 10 Sep 18
We found a stray, agitated dog in front of our house last night. We phoned but got no help from the Council ranger who gave two options: tie him up in front yard overnight or "let him loose, he'll find his own way home" :( So we phoned Gordon Vet: they stayed open a few minutes so we could run him up and he could have a bed and dinner. Thank you Gordon Vet Hospital, hope he gets home soon!!! :)
See All Reviews

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

Paralysis Tick Prevention and Treatment for Dogs, Cats

Paralysis ticks

Although ticks are found all over the world, the paralysis tick (Ixodes holocyclus) is only found in Australia. It is restricted to the humid east coast of Australia from North Queensland to Northern Victoria. We’re not the only ones who appreciate the natural beauty of Sydney’s Ku Ring Gai area, because paralysis ticks are particularly prevalent on the North Shore and Northern Beaches.

Each spring and summer we have a map of the Ku Ring Gai area in our reception, with locations of tick paralysis patients from that season marked. This is very helpful to identify the areas where ticks are more prevalent.

The east coast of Australia is where paralysis ticks are prevalent

The east coast of Australia is where paralysis ticks are prevalent

The Paralysis Tick (Ixodes holocyclus)

The Paralysis Tick (Ixodes holocyclus)

Where are they found?

Possums and Bandicoots are the natural hosts of the paralysis tick, and as with other Australian native wildlife, are usually unaffected by their toxin. I.e. it does not harm. However, the paralysis tick quite happily feeds on dogs, cats and humans. Ticks attach to our pets as they walk through grass or bushes where native animals, particularly possums and bandicoots have been. This means that all the National parks and bushland around the North Shore of Sydney are high risk areas. In fact, most pets become affected without even leaving their backyard. Ticks may fall out of a tree onto a pet, or may crawl onto them from the ground. Even backyards that have previously seemed safe from ticks cannot be relied upon as being tick free. Who knows when a possum or bandicoot is going to wander through?

The bandicoot – a natural host of the paralysis tick

The bandicoot – a natural host of the paralysis tick

The possum – a natural host of the paralysis tick

The possum – a natural host of the paralysis tick

The worst time for tick paralysis is from August through to February, but at Gordon Vet Hospital we treat patients for tick paralysis all year round. In our experience, ticks are particularly prevalent when rain follows a period of warm weather. In Sydney, that is not uncommon.

In recent years at Gordon Vet, we have seen an increase in the number of cases of tick paralysis. We suspect that global warming, changing weather patterns and increasing numbers of possums and bandicoots is causing a rise in the tick population. Local yard factors such as overgrown areas, composting and mulching are also contributors. Grassy, shady areas under trees, where people and dogs congregate at parks, are also a problem.

The paralysis tick life cycle

After hatching from an egg, the larval tick climbs onto nearby vegetation, waiting for an animal to come by. Usually this would be a possum or bandicoot, however if a dog or cat wanders by, they don’t discriminate. The larval tick burrows its mouthparts into the animal’s skin and starts to suck blood, injecting a neurotoxin as it feeds. Although the tick starts off small, it grows in size as it fills with blood. Once the larval tick has had its fill, it drops off, moults and becomes a nymph tick. The feeding and moulting process is then repeated using a new host animal. After this stage the tick becomes the most dangerous life stage, an adult paralysis tick. Once the female adult paralysis tick has filled with blood, she drops off her host and lays up to 3000 eggs, ready to start the whole cycle again.

The sizes of paralysis ticks through their life stages

The sizes of paralysis ticks through their life stages

Signs of tick paralysis

As they feed, female paralysis ticks inject a neurotoxin that binds to the point where nerves meet muscles. It usually takes about 3-4 days of feeding before sufficient toxin is injected to cause signs of illness. Initial signs are vague, but progress over the following few days. The most common clinical signs that we see are:

  • Vomiting, regurgitating or refusing to eat
  • A change in voice (bark or meow may become hoarse)
  • Weakness in the back legs
  • Lack of coordination or inability to climb stairs, (may progress to collapse and paralysis)
  • Breathing problems – panting, coughing or slow laboured breathing
  • It is important to know that occasionally patients will not develop the usual signs of tick
  • paralysis, and may show other signs of illness.

As the poisoning progresses, pets become unable to stand and have extreme difficulty breathing. Eventually, untreated tick poisoning will result in death.

Removing a paralysis tick from your pet

If you are ever unsure if something is a tick or not, please do not hesitate to phone and make a time for one of our vets or nurses to have a look and let you know. Adult paralysis ticks have very long barbed mouthparts which embed in the pet’s skin, which makes them hard to remove. Ticks can be removed with tweezers by grasping the tick as close to the skin as possible, or preferably with a Tick Twister. If the mouthparts break off, the tick will be dead and hence cannot produce any more toxin or burrow any deeper. The site may become infected, so we do recommend removing the mouthparts if possible and treating with an antiseptic.

How to use a Tick Twister

How to use a Tick Twister

Please take care and monitor your pet very closely after removing a tick. Do not exercise them and only offer small amounts of food and water. Due to the slow action of the tick toxin, a pet may develop tick paralysis up to several days after a tick has been removed.

If your pet is showing any signs of illness at all, or if the tick you removed was large, please phone Gordon Vet immediately to arrange an appointment. The sooner your pet is treated, the better their chance of recovery.

A bottle of Tick Anti serum

A bottle of Tick Anti serum

Tick paralysis treatment at Gordon Vet

If you suspect that your pet may have a tick, or if you find a tick on your pet, please phone Gordon Vet immediately. We will ensure that your pet is seen as a priority.

On arrival, we will examine your pet thoroughly, assess the grade of tick paralysis and provide any emergency care that is needed. Tick patients are given an injection of a sedative to ensure they are calm and not stressed. We then place an intravenous catheter in one of the forelegs and administer the tick antitoxin via a drip. This product is made from the serum of hyper immune dogs, and as a blood product, is given with great care. The tick antitoxin is not an antidote. It can only neutralise the toxin that has not yet bound to the nerve endings, and hence is most effective if it is given as soon as possible. It does not give patients ongoing immunity to ticks. Pets are tick searched and tick rinsed to ensure there are no remaining ticks.

A paralysis tick being identified and removed

A paralysis tick being identified and removed

Most pets with tick poisoning develop paralysis of their larynx and their oesophagus. They lose the ability to swallow food and water and move it down to their stomach, and are at an increased risk of regurgitation and severe pneumonia. It is essential that we do not add to this problem by giving them food or water. At Gordon Vet, we regularly assess their ability to swallow, and once they are able to we offer them water and then food. Additionally, we suction out any fluid that pools in the back of their throat to make breathing easier.

It is common for tick paralysis patients to need eye care if they lose the ability to blink, and bladder care if they lose the ability to pass urine. Importantly they all need calm, quiet and TLC.

Pets often need intravenous fluids in order to maintain their hydration. Unfortunately some pets develop pneumonia and more severe breathing difficulties. They may need radiographs, intravenous antibiotics, blood gas analysis, intubation, and ventilation. All of this treatment can be done at Gordon Vet. We also transfer patients to an emergency hospital if needed.

Hospitalisation is important for recovery from tick paralysis

Hospitalisation is important for recovery from tick paralysis

It is important to note that tick paralysis can be very unpredictable. Patients can occasionally get worse suddenly and unexpectedly. Some also have a very slow recovery. We will endeavour to keep you updated with your pet’s progress, prognosis and cost of treatment, however if you have any concerns please do not hesitate to ask.

Larval ticks

Larval paralysis ticks, commonly known as ‘grass ticks’ are particularly prevalent in autumn and winter. When they first attach they are almost impossible to see; only 0.5mm in diameter. As they feed over the next 4 to 6 days, they swell and become more visible. At Gordon Vet we see many dogs and cats showing signs of distress and intense irritation from the feeding larval paralysis ticks. Occasionally a small animal may have enough larval ticks to cause signs of tick poisoning. A Frontline spray done correctly will kill the larval ticks, which fall out over the next few days.

Tick Prevention

At Gordon Vet, we strongly recommend two important components of tick prevention. Both need to be done.

1. A daily tick search: This must be done every day during the tick season, even if your pet is on tick prevention. Most ticks are found on the pet’s head, neck or shoulders. The most effective way to tick search is to systematically run your fingers along their skin until you have checked their entire body. You are more likely to feel a tick with your fingers than see one. Don’t stop searching if you find a tick, as many pets will have a second one. Grooming and clipping long haired animals in spring and summer makes it easier to find a tick.

A paralysis tick in the fur and an engorged paralysis tick

A paralysis tick in the fur and an engorged paralysis tick

2. Tick Prevention:

a. Dogs

The two choices are to use an oral medication or topical/spot on product.

Nexgard is a monthly chewable tablet that controls fleas and paralysis ticks when given monthly. It is ideal that this is given all year round. It is only suitable for dogs. Nexgard is unaffected by swimming or bathing and is safe to be given from 8 weeks of age. Occasionally it may cause vomiting or diarrhoea.

Advantix is a topical product that is applied to your dog’s skin (back of the neck) every two weeks for tick control. It also controls fleas. Dogs should not swim or have a bath within two days of application of Advantix. It is safe to use in puppies from 7 weeks of age. Advantix is highly toxic to cats. It should never be applied to a cat and care should be taken when using it on a dog when there is a cat in the family.

Frontline Top Spot is another topical product applied to your dog’s skin every two weeks. It is safe to use from 8 weeks of age. Additionally it comes as a spray which can be used to saturate the entire coat every three weeks. It is safe to use from 2 days of age. Dogs should not swim or have a bath within two days of application of Frontline products.

Tick Collars: There are several tick collars on the market which may be used as an adjunct to one of the above methods in dogs only.

b. Cats

When choosing a tick preventative for your cat always choose a product that is registered for use in cats. Several dog tick products are highly toxic to cats, so never apply a product to a cat that is not specifically for cats. If you have applied a dog product to your cat, please phone Gordon Vet immediately on 9498 3000.

Frontline Spray is the only registered tick preventative for cats. Your cat needs to have its entire coat sprayed so that it is saturated, every three weeks. It is safe to use from just 2 days of age. The entire body must be sprayed, which can be difficult to do. If you prefer, we will spray your cat with Frontline for you at Gordon Vet. Just give us a call and make a time with one of our nurses.

Frontline Top Spot is another topical product applied to your cat’s skin every two weeks. It is not registered as a tick preventative for cats, however many cat owners use this product because it is less stressful to apply than the Frontline Spray. It is safe to use from 8 weeks of age.

If your pet has a tick, or you are concerned that they may have one, please phone Gordon Vet immediately on 9498 3000. We are open from 7am to 8pm on weekdays and from 8-5 on Saturdays and 9-5 on Sundays. Outside these hours please phone our number and you will be given directions to our after-hours vet or the Northside Emergency Veterinary Service.

SEO and Web Design by Result Driven SEO | Sitemap