• 关注
  • 关注
  • 关注

行为问题或问题行为?

动物发生行为问题并不罕见,这会影响你和宠物之间的关系,并可能影响他们的生活质量。

寻找治疗方案时 ,问题行为和行为问题 之间的区别 是非常重要的。

问题 的行 是一个正常宠物的行为而我们觉得是不可取的,如在游客前面蹦来蹦去地迎接他们,在您最喜爱的地毯拉屎或对周围的人没有礼貌。这意味着,你的宠物则表现的正常行为却不符合人类驯养的要求。我们可以通过电话给您一些有用的建议,也可以推荐狗训练师为此进一步培训,这通常可以纠正问题的行为。 请参阅下面的链接到推荐的培训师。

问题则完全不同概念。许多行为问题源于焦虑,但也可能出于特殊的恐惧症,如雷暴恐惧症。这行为问题不属于正常行为,不能简单地通过培训来纠正。事实上,如果动物有焦虑症,训练会加剧它的病情。 最重要的是那些具有攻击性,表现出过度的恐惧,分离焦虑或严重的噪声恐怖症的狗只应该由兽医详细检查诊断。

每个病例都是不同的,应该分开独立处理。 这些情况下,狗的生活质量会受到影响,它们经常需要特定的药物(药物的类型取决于病情)来帮助他们。在任何分配药物治疗之前,需要通过一系列提问全面体检和行为评估,通常还需要进行血液检查。

行为问题越早解决,就越有可能产生积极的疗效。

尿猫往往是一个问题行为(因为猫的天性)和行为问题(焦虑往往是背后的根本原因,甚至可能是猫得了尿路感染)的组合,所以请跟您的兽医说清楚并和你的猫做好检查,这偶然会是尿路感染的情况,因此需要排除行为问题的医疗。

高登动物医院 的兽医对动物行为问题特别感兴趣,他们参加过各种行为学的特定会议和研讨会。 如果您不确定行为问题是否需要就医检验和治疗,请致电9498 3000来预约。

Sometimes, for complicated behavioural problems, a referral is needed to a behaviour specialist. There are only a handful of veterinarians that specialise in behaviour in Australia (see list below).

Specialist Animal Behaviour Services (based at Seaforth) headed by Dr Kersti Seksel

行为问题咨询需要至少30分钟,所以请确保您预定在30 分钟(长)的咨询时间。

有时候,对于复杂的行为问题,行为专家需要转诊。 在澳大利亚只有少数专门从事行为学的兽医(见下表)。

设在Seaforth的由Dr Kersti Seksel为首的动物行为专家服务

www.sabs.com.au 电话9949 8511

Dr Robert Holmes (总部设在墨尔本,但确实经常前往悉尼和家访同时提供电话咨询)

www.animalbehaviour.com or 电话 (03) 9882 6789 or 0419 384 922

训练

培训应尽早在小狗四周就开始,我们医院在每周六下午1点举行小狗课程(预订都很重要,请打电话上9498 3000)。这对于小狗社交和学习培训的基础知识很有利,但是这肯定不能替代狗在青少年(5-7个月)的驯服课程。驯服训练课程在Get Smart Dogs组织St.Ives场地有开展,请检查下面的以下链接:

http://www.getsmartdogs.com.au/PetSMART.html

Pet SMART课程提供8小时的学习,学生与教员的比例为3:1,适合大多数年龄和品种的狗只。 对于那些需要一些专人照顾的狗,这里也可以安排。 又可以联系Get Smart Dog 训练师,或者找到另一位使用正确技巧(正面训练方法而非惩罚技巧)的教练,请访问以下Delta Society网站:
http://www.deltasocietyaustralia.com.au/

有关如何确保你有愉快的狗能快乐地生活
阅读更多.

 

Online presence by Pet Pack | Web Design by Online Marketing for Doctors | 网站地图
在线预订
Lihong Xing
Lihong Xing
05:00 05 Nov 18
Highly recommend Dr David, Scott, Helen, and Catherine, I've taken my cat to see all the doctors here.
Vishal Kapoor
Vishal Kapoor
01:52 04 Sep 18
Really amazing staff members. Their systems and processes are also very
Arezu A
Arezu A
03:20 15 Feb 18
Absolutely love the service here. I switched from other Vets to this Vet as the staff here are quite attentive and really care about your furry baby! I have basically seen most of the Dr's here and all of them so far have been fantastic, friendly and fun to speak with! Easy to locate and enough parking available! 5 Stars indeed!
Gerry Stevens
Gerry Stevens
11:01 14 Jul 18
Good competant vet. Did what I needed. Staff friendly. Cat's well.
Jeremy Tarbox
Jeremy Tarbox
22:55 10 Sep 18
We found a stray, agitated dog in front of our house last night. We phoned but got no help from the Council ranger who gave two options: tie him up in front yard overnight or "let him loose, he'll find his own way home" :( So we phoned Gordon Vet: they stayed open a few minutes so we could run him up and he could have a bed and dinner. Thank you Gordon Vet Hospital, hope he gets home soon!!! :)
See All Reviews

• Like us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on
  • Follow us on

Behaviour Problem or Problem Behaviour?

It is not uncommon for animals to develop a behavioural problem, and this can affect the relationship between you and your pet as well as potentially affecting their quality of life.

Differentiating between a problem behaviour and a behaviour problem is vital when looking at treatment options.

A problem behaviour is a normal pet behaviour that is undesirable to us, such as jumping up on visitors to greet them, defecating on your favourite rug or generally having no manners around people. This means that your pet is showing a normal behaviour which is undesirable when they are domesticated with humans. Some good advice from us via a phone call as well as some further training with a recommended dog trainer can usually rectify these problem behaviours. See below for some links to recommended trainers.

A behaviour problem is a whole different set of problems. A lot of behavioural problems stem from anxiety but can also be due to particular phobias, such as thunderstorm phobias. Such behavioural problems are not considered a normal behaviour and cannot simply be rectified through training. In fact, disciplining your dog if he or she is anxious, could even exaccerbate the issue. It is essential that dogs that are aggressive, show excessive fear, separation anxiety or severe noise phobias are seen by a veterinarian and discussed in detail.

Each case is different and should be approached in an individual manner. In these cases, the dogs’ quality of life is affected and often they require specific medication (the type of medication depends on the problem) to help them from day to day. Before any medication can be dispensed, a full physical examination and behaviour assessment through a series of questions needs to be carried out and usually a blood test is required.

The earlier a behavioural problem is addressed, the more likely that there will be a positive outcome.

Spraying cats can often be a combination of a problem behaviour (as cats do this naturally) and a behavioural problem (with anxiety often being the underlying reason or even a urinary tract infection), so please speak to your vet and have your cat examined if this is occurring as sometimes it can be a urinary tract infection and so medical problems need to be ruled out.

BEHAVIOUR CONSULTATIONS

There are veterinarians at Gordon Vet Hospital that have a particular interest in animal behaviour problems, attending various behaviour specific conferences and seminars. Please phone us to book an appointment to see us on 9498 3000 if you are uncertain whether the behavioural problem requires veterinary assessment and treatment.

Behaviour consultations require a minimum of 30 minutes so please ensure you book in for a 30 minute (long) consultation.

Sometimes, for complicated behavioural problems, a referral is needed to a behaviour specialist. There are only a handful of veterinarians that specialise in behaviour in Australia (see list below).

Specialist Animal Behaviour Services (based at Seaforth) headed by Dr Kersti Seksel

www.sabs.com.au or ph 9949 8511

Dr Robert Holmes (based in Melbourne but does regular trips to Sydney and home visits as well as phone consultations)

www.animalbehaviour.com or ph (03) 9882 6789 or 0419 384 922

TRAINING

Training should begin early on with a 4 week puppy class which we hold on Saturdays 1pm at Gordon Vet Hospital (bookings are essential so phone us on 9498 3000). This is great for socialisation and learning the basics of training, however is certainly not a replacement for obedience classes as an adolescent (5-7 months). Ongoing classes for obedience can be accessed through Get Smart Dogs at St.Ives Showground, so check out the following link below:

http://www.getsmartdogs.com.au/PetSMART.html

The Pet SMART program offers 8 hours of tuition with a 3:1 ratio of students to trainers and is suitable for most ages and breeds. For those dogs needing a bit of individual attention, this can also be arranged. Either speak to one of the Get Smart Dog Trainers or find another trainer that uses the right techniques (positive training methods rather than punishment techniques) by visiting the Delta Society website below:

http://www.deltasocietyaustralia.com.au/

For more tips on how to ensure you have a happy life with a happy dog, click on this link to read more.

SEO and Web Design by Online Marketing For Doctors | Sitemap